Big Ten Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners

Indiana's Alice Wright was tabbed Freshman of the Year

May 21, 2014

Rosemont, Ill. -

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Wednesday the rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Ohio State’s Catherine Shields was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Indiana’s Alice Wright was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Buckeye head coach Andy Teitelbaum earned Coach of the Year honors.

Shields becomes the second consecutive Buckeye to win Athlete of the Year and fourth overall. The sophomore from Rangiora, New Zealand sat in the No. 6 seat for the Buckeyes as they emerged victorious in the first varsity eight race last weekend and remained undefeated on the year (9-0). She helped Ohio State claim its second straight Big Ten title and third in the last four years. Shields was named Freshman of the Year last season and becomes the first student-athlete to win Freshman and Athlete of the Year in consecutive years. She joins Michigan State’s Anne Cowan (2005, 2008) and Laura Cowal (2008, 2011) as winners of both awards.

Wright becomes the first Hoosier to win an individual rowing award, as she helped Indiana record its best season in program history and earn its first trip to the NCAA Championships. The Varsity Wellington, New Zealand native sat in the stroke seat in Indiana’s first varsity eight boat that medaled at the Big Ten Championships last weekend for the first time in program history. The boat posted a third-place effort to help the Hoosiers claim their highest team finish at the event. The newcomer was named a second-team All-Big Ten selection.

Teitelbaum takes home Big Ten Coach of the Year laurels for the second straight season, the third time in the last four years and a conference-record fifth time overall. He guided the Buckeyes to their record-tying fifth Big Ten Championship on the strength of five first-place finishes for a total of 164 points, a championships record. Teitelbaum helped Ohio State to its 15th consecutive bid to the NCAA Championships. He looks to lead the Buckeyes to back-to-back national championships after earning the conference’s first national rowing title last season.  



The Big Ten announced the members of the All-Big Ten teams following the conclusion of the championships last Sunday. Five Ohio State rowers were named to the All-Conference teams. Michigan had four selections, while Indiana claimed three honorees.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The seven student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

The complete list of All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship honorees can be found below.

Athlete of the Year:
Catherine Shields, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year:
Alice Wright, Indiana

Coach of the Year:
Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State

First Team
Mera Dickensheets, Indiana
Zoe Ribar, Iowa
Amanda Elmore, Michigan
Bryna Oleshansky, Michigan
Laura Moore, Michigan State
Lynn Hodnett, Minnesota
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Holly Norton, Ohio State
Catherine Shields, Ohio State
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin

Second Team
Karly Kikkert, Indiana
Alice Wright, Indiana
Lauren Subler, Iowa
Jessica Eiffert, Michigan
Chrissy Holm, Michigan
Sarah Kovacs, Michigan State
Katherine Windsor, Minnesota
Ashley Bauer, Ohio State
Rixt Miedema, Ohio State
Anne Rauschert, Wisconsin

Caroline Comey, Indiana
Gabby Watson, Iowa
Andrea Johnson, Michigan
Sarah Sherman, Michigan State
Chelsea Miller, Minnesota
Katie King, Ohio State
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin