NCAA Women's Rowing Championships Preview

May 23, 2005

NCAA Championships Preview Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Big Ten champion Michigan State will be joined by Michigan, Ohio State and Wisconsin at the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships held May 27-29 at the CSUS Aquatic Center in Rancho Cordova, Calif.  California State University - Sacramento will serve as the host of the event. 

This year marks the second-consecutive time in Conference history, and third overall, that four schools will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Championships, since rowing became a League sport in 2000.

The Spartans, under first-year head coach Matt Weise, captured their first-ever Big Ten Championship title in April and placed sixth overall at the regional championships on May 14-15.  Michigan State's highest finish at the NCAAs came in 1999 and 2000 when the Spartans placed eighth in the team competition both years. 

Michigan earned its eighth-straight NCAA bid in the program's nine-year varsity history.  The Wolverines finished fourth at the Big Ten Championships and is the only League school to boast an individual boat national title.  The Maize and Blue posted a program-best second-place overall finish in 2001 when their second varsity eight boat garnered the top time in the race. 

Ohio State will making its sixth-straight appearance, as the Buckeyes finished eighth in 2004 and 2003, fifth in 2002, fourth in 2001 and ninth in 2000.  Head coach Andy Teitelbaum's squad is coming off its performance at the 2005 Aramark Central/South Region Sprints where the team won its third-consecutive Central Region title and placed second in the overall standings. 

The Badgers earned their second-straight NCAA bid under first season head coach Bebe Bryans.  Wisconsin will look to improve on its team finishes from 1999 and 2004, when the squad placed 10th and 11th, respectively. 

The team championships is comprised of 12 squads and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.  In addition, four eight-women boats from institutions not represented in the team competition are selected. 

The selection of teams and individual boats was based on eligibility and availability of student-athletes; regional championship results; regional rankings; late-season performance; head-to-head results; results against teams/boats already selected; results against common opponents; and results against regionally-ranked teams/boats.  One team from each region was selected and the remaining seven teams were selected at-large.

The following teams were selected to compete at this year's NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships:

Brown, California, Harvard, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Princeton, Southern California, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and Yale.

Stanford, Syracuse, Tennessee and UCLA