Four Big Ten Teams Begin NCAA Championships Competition on Friday

Big Ten and Central Region Champion Wisconsin and three other Big Ten schools begin competition at NCAA Championships on Friday.

May 27, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The NCAA Division I Rowing Committee awarded four Big Ten schools with a berth in the 2010 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships. The championships will be held May 28-30 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif. Earning a spot among the 16-team field in this year's championships include Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Wisconsin.

The regatta is comprised of 16 teams, and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. Each Big Ten school is in search of its first NCAA Championship.

Following third-place finishes at the Central Region Sprints and the Big Ten Championships earlier this month, Michigan is making its 10th appearance at the NCAA Championships. The Wolverines have finished as high as second at the national regatta, finishing five points back of Washington in 2001.

After earning second-place finishes in the Central Region Sprints and at the Big Ten Championships, Michigan State was selected to its 12th championships in the last 13 seasons. Last year, the Spartans finished sixth at the NCAA Championships, leading three conference squads with a top-10 finish.

Ohio State appears in the regatta for the 12th time and has been selected to the last 11 championships. The Buckeyes finished eighth at last year's championships, but a pair of fourth-place efforts in the Big Ten Championships and in the Central Region Sprints has Ohio State aiming for a higher finish this year.

The fourth conference squad competing this weekend is Big Ten Champion and Central Region Champion Wisconsin. The Badgers are making their sixth NCAA Championships berth in the last seven years. Last season, Wisconsin finished 13th in the team standings, but its varsity four had the top individual finish among Big Ten boats after a second-place showing in the grand final.

The four conference schools will be joined by 12 other teams from across the nation, including Brown, California, Clemson, Princeton, Southern California, Stanford, Tennessee, UCLA, Virginia, Washington, Washington State and Yale.

Updated results and a web cast of all the races during the championships will be available at Highlights of the championships will appear on the 2010 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA, which will air at 4 p.m. ET on Saturday, June 19 on CBS.