Ohio State Wins NCAA Rowing Championship

June 2, 2013

Indianapolis, Ind. -

Live Coverage

Schedule of Events

The No. 1 Ohio State rowing team made program history Sunday morning at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, claiming its first national team title after earning first-place finishes in the first varsity four and second varsity eight and a third-place finish in the first varsity eight. The Buckeyes are the first Big Ten team to win a national team title in rowing.

The Ohio State first varsity four, made up of Taylore Urban, Sara Handa, Chloe Meyer, Aina Cid-Centelles and coxswain Dara Schnoll, crossed the finish line in 7:08.26, just under three seconds ahead of second-place USC. The second varsity eight crew of Daphne Socha, Katie Beletskaya, Silvia DeMatteis, Stephanie Johnson, Nicole Becks, Lauren Eckles, Samantha Fowle, Catherine Shields and coxswain Amanda Poll closed out the season with a perfect 12-0 record after recording a time of 6:27.86 to claim the national crown.

Ohio State Release

Complete Results

Heavy winds at the NCAA Rowing Championship have caused the sanctioning body to postpone four events of Saturday's events to early Sunday morning, including a re-running of an event.

Revised Sunday Schedule

Saturday's Results

Eight Big Ten boats moved on to the NCAA Rowing Championships semifinals after Friday's heats. Michigan and Ohio State each saw their first and second varsity eights and first varsity four advance to the semifinals. Wisconsin's first varsity eight and first varsity four will also join the Wolverines and Buckeyes in semifinal action.

Day Two of the NCAA Rowing Championships begin at 9 a.m. ET on Saturday.

The 2013 NCAA Rowing Championships is underway at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. Michigan, Ohio State and Wisconsin travel to the national regatta in search of their first championships crown.

For live coverage and schedule of events, click the links above.

Three Big Ten squads travel to Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, this weekend for the 2013 NCAA Rowing Championships, scheduled for May 31-June 2. Michigan, Ohio State and Wisconsin travel to the national regatta in search of their first championships crown.

The championship includes 22 teams and each squad is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four. Two Big Ten boats look to defend their national crowns as the Michigan second varsity eight and Ohio State first varsity four captured NCAA titles last season.

All three Big Ten participants are ranked in the latest CRCA/US Rowing Coaches Poll, led by No. 1 Ohio State, while No. 13 Wisconsin and No. 14 Michigan follow.