Ohio State Wins NCAA Rowing Championship

May 31, 2015

GOLD RIVER, Calif. -- The Ohio State rowing team made history Sunday morning at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif., claiming its third consecutive national team title. The Buckeyes earned first-, second- and fifth-place finishes in the first varsity eight, second varsity eight and first varsity four races, respectively. Ohio State is the first rowing team to win three consecutive NCAA crowns.

The Ohio State first varsity eight, consisting of coxswain Sami Jurofski, Holly Norton, Catherine Shields, Sarah Davis, Ashley Bauer, Stephanie Williams, Anna Ralph, Aina Cid Centelles and Rachel Engel crossed the finish line in 6:18.144 to close out the season with a perfect 15-0 record.

Big Ten schools have now claimed 10 national titles so far this academic year, breaking the conference single-season record of nine set in 1999-2000. The Buckeyes' women's rowing team joins Maryland's women's lacrosse, Michigan State women's cross country, Minnesota women's ice hockey, Nebraska bowling, Ohio State football, open pistol, synchronized swimming and wrestling and Penn State volleyball as national champions in 2014-15.