2008 Big Ten Rowing Season in Review

June 10, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Big Ten Champion Michigan State led all conference schools at the 2008 NCAA Rowing Championships, finishing sixth in the final team standings, while Ohio State finished seventh and Wisconsin placed 10th.  This year's Championships were hosted by the University of California Berkeley at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif.

Michigan State made its 10th overall appearance in the NCAA Championships, and eighth since the Big Ten began sponsoring women's rowing in 2000.  The Spartans won the Big Ten Championship in May to take home their second conference crown in program history, the first came in 2005.  MSU's Anne Cowan and Joanna Brown were named to the 2008 CRCA Pocock All-America Team.  Cowan was a first team selection and Brown was named to the second team.  Cowan was also crowned Big Ten Athlete of the Year at the conclusion of the conference championships.

Ohio State made its ninth-consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships, and is the only school in the conference to participate in the event each year the Big Ten has sponsored women's rowing.  The Buckeyes' second varsity eight boat placed second as it finished just two seconds behind Brown in the grand final.  Individually, OSU's Gabriele Albertaviciute was named a first-team All-American.

For Wisconsin, 2008 marked the fifth time that the Badgers have participated in the NCAA Championships as a team, the fourth time in the last five years. 

Michigan's first varsity eight competed for an individual title and finished fifth in the petite final.  U-M's Karen Colwell earned first-team All-America honors, and teammate Lori Gordon was named to the second team.

In addition, Minnesota's Jennifer Barnes was a first-team All-America selection and Indiana's Ellie Benson was named to the second team.