2015 Rowing Season In Review

June 11, 2015

Third Time's A Charm: The Ohio State rowing team made history Sunday morning at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif., claiming its third consecutive national team title. The Buckeyes earned first-, second- and fifth-place finishes in the first varsity eight, second varsity eight and first varsity four races, respectively. Ohio State is the first rowing team to win three consecutive NCAA crowns. For more information on the Buckeyes' win, click here.

Four Advance to NCAAs: Four Big Ten teams were selected for the 2015 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships. Indiana, Michigan, Ohio State and Wisconsin earned berths into the national event, marking the sixth time in the last seven years four conference teams have participated in the NCAA Championships. For information on the NCAA Championships, click here.

Big Ten Buckeyes: Ohio State won its sixth Big Ten title at the 2015 Big Ten Rowing Championships at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. The Buckeyes recorded 186 team points, a new championships record, on the strength of six first-place finishes. Ohio State tallied wins in the first varsity eight, first varsity four, second varsity four, first novice eight, third varsity four and second novice eight races. Michigan followed in second-place with 162 points, while Wisconsin finished third with 140 points. Click here for more on the Big Ten Championships.

And the Awards Go To: The Big Ten Conference office announced the rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Ohio State's Ashley Bauer was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while teammate Sarah Davis was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Ohio State head coach Andrew Teitelbaum earned Coach of the Year honors. Click here for more information about the honorees. To see the All-Big Ten teams, click here.

In the Polls: Four Big Ten schools ranked among the top 20 in the latest CRCA/USRowing Coaches Poll. Ohio State claimed the top spot in the nation, while Michigan followed at No. 10, Indiana came in at No. 12 and Wisconsin claimed the No. 13 spot. To view the polls, click here.

Division I Pocock All-American Award Winners
First Team
Ashley Bauer – Ohio State
Sarah Davis – Ohio State
Mera Dickensheets – Indiana
Jessica Eiffert – Michigan
Holly Norton – Ohio State
Catherine Shields – Ohio State

Second Team
Rebecca Braak – Minnesota
Hannah Schwartz – Wisconsin
Alexandra Spaulding – Michigan
Alice Wright – Indiana