2017 Pocock All-Americans

June 14, 2017

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced the 2017 Pocock All- America award winners, with eight students from five Big Ten schools earning recognition. These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains on the national level in women’s collegiate rowing.

General requirements for nominating a student-athlete for CRCA post-season honors are:

  • The student-athlete must meet all eligibility rules as defined by her institution
  • The student-athlete must have rowed at least 75% of the current spring season’s races in the varsity boat (before and including May 19, 2017)
  • The student-athlete must be nominated by her institution
  • The Head Coach of the student-athlete’s institution must be a member in good standing of the CRCA

The nominated student-athletes are then selected to 1st and 2nd teams based on the following criteria:

  • Strength of finish of the institution’s varsity eight within the country
  • Coach comments
  • 2k erg score

The complete list of honorees can be found below. 

2017 Division I Pocock First Team All America Award Winners
Kendall Brewer – University of Michigan
Ida Kruse – Ohio State University
Kate Wright – University of Michigan

2017 Division I Pocock Second Team All America Award Winners
Emily Barber – Indiana University
Louisa Freeman – University of Michigan
Morgan Grastorf – University of Iowa
Kalia Krichko – University of Michigan
Maria Schmid – University of Wisconsin