Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - OSU's Claire-Louise Bode

Bode led the Buckeyes' to their first national team title.

June 25, 2013

Through today, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Wednesday.

Claire-Louise Bode - Ohio State - Rowing
The Big Ten Athlete of the Year, Bode led the Buckeyes to their first NCAA title and fourth Big Ten Championship this season. The junior was part of Ohio State's first varsity eight, which placed third at the national meet and first at the Big Ten Championships. She was a first-team All-America choice, first-team All-Big Ten selection and CRCA first-team All-Central Region honoree. Bode guided the Buckeyes to a No. 1 ranking in the final CRCA/USRowing Coaches poll and the first varsity eight to a 9-3 overall record this season. Click HERE for more information on Claire-Louise.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    

Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving

Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf  

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling

Amanda Kessel, Minnesota women's ice hockey

Justin Parr, Illinois baseball

Ashley Spencer, Illinois women's track & field  

Montee Ball, Wisconsin football   

Cassandra Darrah, Wisconsin softball   

Chad Wright, Nebraska men's track & field

Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska women's tennis

Venric Mark, Northwestern football

Chelsea Armstrong, Northwestern field hockey

Blaz Rola, Ohio State men's tennis