2010 Big Ten Rowing Season in Review

June 28, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten ended the 2010 season with two conference teams earning top 10 finishes, and two others placing in the top 15 in the final team standings at the 2010 NCAA Rowing Championships at Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif.

Big Ten and Central Region Champion Wisconsin finished seventh overall with 55 points, while Michigan State was ninth with 51 points. Michigan was 11th with 43 points and Ohio State was 14th overall with 22 points. The Badgers' varsity four boat recorded the highest finish by a Big Ten team, finishing with a third-place effort. One Michigan boat also placed in the grand final, as the Wolverines' second varsity eight finished sixth overall.

Wisconsin won the Central Region title at the Aramark South/Central Region Sprints on Melton Lake. The Badgers finished with 405 points and was second overall in the team standings, behind Virginia's 451 points.

The Big Ten dominated the top of the Central Region standings, with Michigan State finishing second (387 points), edging third-place Michigan (386). Ohio State (360) and Iowa (293) rounded out the top five. Minnesota finished seventh in the Central Region standings with 249 points and Indiana was eighth with 154 points.

At the 2010 Big Ten Rowing Championships on Lake Ovid at Sleepy Hollow State Park in Laingsburg, Mich., Wisconsin won its first Big Ten title off the strength of four first-place efforts. With wins in the second varsity eight, first varsity four, first novice eight and second novice eight, the Badgers totaled 148 points, ahead of second-place Michigan State (132) and third-place Michigan (111). Ohio State was fourth with 105 points followed by Minnesota (66), Iowa (51) and Indiana (30).

Following the Big Ten Championships, Michigan State's Emily Regan was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Wisconsin's Mollie Kryka won Freshman of the Year laurels. Badger leader Bebe Bryans was named conference Coach of the Year after guiding Wisconsin to its first Big Ten Championship.

At season's end, five conference student-athletes earned All-America honors by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. Michigan's Ashley Kroll and Michigan State's Regan were named to the first team, while Iowa's Jessica Novak, Ohio State's Charlott Goldstein and Wisconsin's Vicky Opitz were second-team honorees.