Rutgers' Murphy and Rexrode Bestowed With Big Ten Medal of Honor

May 2, 2018

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Rutgers University Athletic Department announced Casey Murphy of the women's soccer team and Michael Rexrode of the men's lacrosse team were awarded the prestigious Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor at the fourth annual RAwards at the Rutgers Athletic Center on Tuesday night.

Murphy earned numerous accolades throughout her standout career. The Bridgewater, N.J., native's resume boasts her status as a two-time All-American, two-time Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year, two-time All-Big Ten First Team selection, and two-time All-Region First Team honoree. In the classroom, Murphy was tabbed a Scholar All-American and Academic All-Big Ten her senior season. In 2017, Murphy was named a MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist after leading the Big Ten and ranking second in the nation in GAA (0.267), save percentage (.924) and total shutouts (16).

Overall, she stopped 73 of 79 opponent shots on goal, allowing just six goals in 21 starts. Murphy became Rutgers all-time career shutouts leader in 2017 with 45 total clean sheets in just three years of action. She redshirted the 2016 season to compete for the U.S. Under-20 Women's National Team at the U-20 FIFA World Cup. The goalkeeper's career total is a mark that ranks second in Big Ten history and fourth in the NCAA among active career leaders. Murphy was selected 13th overall by Sky Blue FC in the 2018 NWSL College Draft. She is signed to a professional contract with Montpellier Hérault Sport Club of France.

Rexrode has been the backbone of the men's lacrosse team's defense throughout his career and earned First Team All-Big Ten honors the past two seasons. Rexrode garnered Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honors this year after starting all 14 games, with 23 ground balls and nine caused turnovers. A two-time team captain, he was a Senior CLASS Award Finalist, member of the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, and 2nd round draft pick of the MLL's Florida Launch. An All-American in 2017, he has started in every career game played. The Civil Engineering major maintains a 3.8 GPA.

The Big Ten Conference's most exclusive award was the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had "attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work." Big Ten schools currently feature almost 9,500 student-athletes, but only 28 earn this prestigious award on an annual basis. In the 100-plus years of the Medal of Honor, almost 1,400 student-athletes have earned this distinction.