Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Jannelle Flaws (Illinois)

Flaws scored 23 goals this season to tie for the national scoring lead.

June 21, 2014

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Jannelle Flaws – Illinois – Soccer

Flaws was an offensive force throughout the season, scoring 23 goals to tie for the national scoring lead. Her 23 goals also eclipsed the previous school record of 18 by Emily Brown in 1999. Flaws was named 2013 Big Ten Forward of the Year and was a first-team All-Big Ten and All-Great Lakes Region selection. Flaws found the net in 15 of 23 games and had six multi-goal games, including hat tricks versus Illinois State and Northwestern. She also notched five game-winning goals, none bigger than her golden goal against Portland in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, sending Illinois to its first Sweet 16 since 2008. Click HERE for more information on Jannelle.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics



Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field

Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing

Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling

Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin hockey

Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin track & field

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota gymnastics

Ellis Mannon, Minnesota gymnastics

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern lacrosse

Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern wrestling