Women's Hermann Watch List Announced

Aug. 6, 2014

The 2014 Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch Lists were announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Wednesday. Two Big Ten women’s soccer players were recognized. The prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to one male and one female Division I soccer player.

Penn State senior defenseman Whitney Church and Illinois senior forward Jannelle Flaws were the Big Ten representatives on the watch list. Last season, Church was an NSCAA All-Great Lakes second team selection and an All-Big Ten second team honoree. In 2013, Flaws was named Big Ten Forward of the Year and earned the University of Illinois Dike Eddleman Female Athlete of the Year and Daily Illini Athlete of the Year honors. She also tied for first in the NCAA with 23 goals, an Illinois school-record, and was tabbed first-team All-Big Ten and first-team NSCAA All-Great Lakes Region.

The lists are compiled by NSCAA Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees based on their analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, and other prominent players. At the end of the regular season, coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their selections, narrowing the list to 15. In November, fans can also vote for their favorite semifinalists.

The winners of the trophy, three men and three women, will be announced Friday, Jan. 9, 2015.