Big Ten Women's Soccer Season Begins This Weekend

Aug. 19, 2010

2010 Big Ten Women's Soccer Results

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The 2010 Big Ten women's soccer season begins on Friday, Aug. 20, with 10 of the conference's 11 teams playing their first games of the season over the course of the weekend.

Friday's action begins with Michigan State traveling to College Station, Texas, to take on St. John's in the Texas A&M Aggieland Invitational. Five other teams open 2010 on the road, as Minnesota heads to No. 4 Notre Dame, Illinois takes on Loyola Chicago, Indiana travels to Evansville, No. 13 Penn State faces No. 24 West Virginia, and No. 20 Wisconsin heads to Green Bay.

Four teams host their home opener on Friday, as Purdue welcomes Toledo, Iowa takes on DePaul, Michigan hosts Detroit Mercy, and Ohio State faces Milwaukee.

On Sunday, Michigan State takes on No. 1 North Carolina at the Aggieland Invitational, while four other teams host games on their home turf. Northwestern opens its 2010 slate against DePaul, Ohio State hosts Marquette, Purdue faces Morehead State, and Michigan welcomes Eastern Michigan.

In 2009, 10 Big Ten teams finished at .500 or better in non-conference play, with five teams earning NCAA Championship berths.

Each team's season outlook can be found below.





Michigan State





Ohio State

Penn State