Big Ten Women's Soccer Tournament Bracket Announced

Oct. 27, 2012

Park Ridge, Ill. -

2012 Big Ten Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

After winning its 15th consecutive Big Ten Championship, Penn State earned the No. 1 seed in the 2012 Big Ten Women's Soccer Tournament. The tournament will be held on the Indiana campus in Bloomington, Ind., with opening-round matchups played on Wednesday, Oct. 31. The tournament winner will earn the Big Ten's automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

The Nittany Lions are undefeated since Sept. 8, posting a 10-0-1 Big Ten record this season. Penn State's conference title marks the most consecutive championships by a Big Ten women's program in any sport. The Nittany Lions will face No. 8 seed Iowa in the second game at approximately 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday.

Ohio State earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament, ending the season with a 5-0 victory over Indiana on Friday to finish with an 8-2-1 conference record. The Buckeyes will face No. 7 Nebraska at approximately 4:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday in the tournament's third game.

Michigan garnered the No. 3 seed in the tournament after earning a 7-2-2 record in conference play. The Wolverines will face No. 6 Wisconsin at approximately 7:30 p.m. ET in Wednesday’s final game.

Minnesota earned the No. 4 seed in the tournament and will face No. 5 seed Illinois in the tournament’s opening game at 10:30 a.m. ET. The two teams previously faced off on Oct. 12, with the Golden Gophers defeating the Fighting Illini, 3-0.

The Big Ten Women's Soccer Tournament semifinals will begin at 10 a.m. ET on Friday, Nov. 2, while the championship game will start at 12 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 4. For the first time, BTN will provide full coverage of the tournament, as the quarterfinals will be streamed live on the Big Ten Digital Network, while the semifinals and finals will be available on both BTN and BTN2Go.