Women's Soccer Postseason Honors

2014 Women's Soccer All-Big Ten Get Acrobat Reader

Nov. 4, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2014 women’s soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors Tuesday, with Big Ten Champion Penn State earning four accolades. The Nittany Lions’ Whitney Church was selected as Defender of the Year, Emily Ogle collected Freshman of the year honors, Raquel Rodriguez was named Midfielder of the Year and Erica Walsh claimed Coach of the Year plaudits. Illinois’ Jannelle Flaws was named Forward of the Year, while Wisconsin’s Genevieve Richard was tabbed Goalkeeper of the Year.

Flaws leads the Big Ten in goals (17), shots (101) and points (37) in all games, and currently ranks fourth in the NCAA in total goals (17). She was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 22, and collects Forward of the Year honors for the second straight year.

Rodriguez finished the regular season with 12 points, including five goals and two assists. In Big Ten play, she scored four goals in eight games.

Church anchored a back line that contributed to six shutouts and allowed just seven goals in conference games. She was a second-team All-Big Ten defender last season.

Richard leads the Big Ten in goals-against average (0.37), save percentage (.903) and shutouts (12), and currently ranks fifth in the NCAA in both goals-against-average and save percentage. Richard was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week three times this season.

Ogle started all 19 matches in her debut campaign, scoring three goals to go along with five assists. The Nittany Lions lead the Big Ten in both goals (46) and assists (44).

Walsh led Penn State to a 17-2-0 record, including a 12-1-0 mark in Big Ten play. The Nittany Lions enter the Big Ten Tournament ranked No. 6 in the NSCAA/NCAA top 25 poll, and are currently on a five-game winning streak.

Flaws, Rodriguez, Church and Richard earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and were joined by Iowa’s Cloe Lacasse and Melanie Pickert, Michigan’s Nicky Waldeck, Wisconsin’s Rose Lavelle, Kinley McNicoll and Cara Walls and Rutgers’ Brianne Reed. Flaws was chosen as a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman team, can be found below.

The Big Ten also recognized 14 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found in the above PDF.