Five Big Ten Women's Soccer Teams Earn Bids to 2012 NCAA Championship

Nkem Ezurike and the Michigan Wolverines are one of five Big Ten teams that will compete in the 2012 NCAA Championships.


Interactive Bracket

Nov. 5, 2012

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Five Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship, it was announced on Monday. Illinois, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin earned berths to the national tournament, which begins Friday. This year marks the seventh time in the last 10 years that five or more Big Ten teams have been selected to the bracket. 

Illinois makes its third consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championship and 11th overall after putting together a 10-8-3 record this season, including a trip to the Big Ten Tournament title game. The Fighting Illini will travel to Columbia to take on Missouri in their first-round match.

Michigan makes its 11th national tournament appearance after compiling a 14-5-2 record this season. The Wolverines open NCAA play by hosting Central Michigan.

After winning its third Big Ten Tournament title, Ohio State will host Oakland in Columbus as a No. 4 seed. The Buckeyes are riding a nine-game win streak and tallied a 16-4-1 overall record this season en route to their fourth-straight NCAA Championship appearance and eighth overall.

After winning its 15th straight regular season Big Ten Championship, Penn State earns a No. 1 seed in the tournament. The Nittany Lions will make their 18th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championship after recording a 17-3-1 record this season. The Nittany Lions play host to LIU-Brooklyn in their first-round game.

Wisconsin makes its 17th tournament appearance in program history after tallying a 12-7-1 record this season. The Badgers will head to Los Angeles to take on UCLA, a No. 3 seed, in their first-round match.

The first round of the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship will be played on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Second- and third-round action will take place Nov. 16 and 18, with the quarterfinals scheduled for Nov. 23, 24 and 25 at campus locations. The 2012 NCAA College Cup will be held in San Diego, Calif. with the semifinals on Nov. 30 and the final on Dec. 2.