Five Big Ten Teams Earn Bids To NCAA Women's Soccer Championship

Nov. 8, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PARK RIDGE, IL - The bracket for the 2004 Division I NCAA Women's Soccer is set and was announced today by the Women's Soccer Committee, as five Big Ten squads are among the 64-team field.  Illinois, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin will all compete in first round action on Friday, November 12.  This marks the ninth consecutive year the Conference has received at least three NCAA bids.

The 2004 Big Ten Tournament champion Ohio State is the No. 6 seed overall and will host first and second round action.  The Buckeyes, making their third straight NCAA appearance, will square off against intrastate opponent Bowling Green.  Michigan, earning its eighth consecutive postseason appearance, will also be in Columbus, Ohio, as the Wolverines will take on Horizon League champion, Detroit.  

Penn State enters the championship as the No. 2 seed and will host State University of New York at Binghamton, the America East champion, in its opening-round game.  The Nittany Lions are making their 10th appearance in the championship. 

In other first round action, Wisconsin will make its 13th postseason appearance as it travels to South Bend, Ind. to face off against Dayton, the Atlantic-10 champion, while Illinois will match up against Rice in a first-round game hosted by Texas A&M. 

The 23rd annual NCAA Division I Women's College Cup will be played December 3 and 5 at SAS Stadium in Cary, N.C.  Penn State and Wisconsin are the only Big Ten teams to have made it to the College Cup.  The Nittany Lions lost in the semifinals in 2002 to Connecticut, 2-1, and in 1999 to North Carolina, 2-0.  Wisconsin advanced to the championship match in 1991 before falling to the Tar Heels, 3-1.