Big Ten Conference Announces Women's Soccer Postseason Honors

Nov. 10, 2010

2010 Women's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Award Winners

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its 2010 women's soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Wednesday, with conference co-champion Ohio State collecting three of the four individual honors. Buckeye junior Paige Maxwell has been named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, with teammate Cassie Dickerson earning Defensive Player of the Year honors. Illinois' Vanessa DiBernardo takes home Freshman of the Year accolades, while Ohio State head coach Lori Walker receives the Coach of the Year award.

Maxwell becomes the first Ohio State player to be tabbed the conference's top offensive player since the award was created in 2004. The junior finished the regular season with 21 points on 10 goals and one assist in 18 matches. Eight of Maxwell's goals came in conference matches, good for first in the Big Ten. She also tied for the conference lead in game-winning goals, tallying five.

Dickerson reels in the first Defensive Player of the Year honors in Ohio State history after leading a Buckeye defensive corps that allowed just 12 goals in 19 matches this season. The defender also helped the Buckeyes to nine shutouts, including five in the team's 10 Big Ten contests.

DiBernardo earns top billing among newcomers after finishing in the conference's top 10 in every major category, leading the way in points (27) and goals (11). She also notched the game-winning goal in four matches for the Fighting Illini. DiBernardo is the first Illinois player to earn the award since Chichi Nweke took home the honors in 2006.

Walker led Ohio State to a share of its first Big Ten title, compiling a 14-4-1 overall record and an 8-2-0 mark in conference play en route to her second Big Ten Coach of the Year honor. She helped the Buckeyes to a final regular-season ranking of No. 17 and an RPI rating of No. 12, guiding Ohio State to its sixth NCAA Championship berth.

Maxwell, Dickerson and DiBernardo all earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and are joined by Michigan's Jackie Carron, Michigan State's Jill Flietstra and Laura Heyboer, Ohio State's Tiffany Cameron, Penn State's Christine Nairn, Purdue's Liz Secue and Wisconsin's Meghan Flannery and Laurie Nosbusch. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including the All-Freshman Team, can be found below.

The Big Ten also recognized 11 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

Offensive Player of the Year:
Paige Maxwell, Ohio State
Defensive Player of the Year: Cassie Dickerson, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois
Coach of the Year: Lori Walker, Ohio State

All-Big Ten Teams

First Team 
Vanessa DiBernardo, M, Illinois
Jackie Carron, D, Michigan
Jill Flietstra, GK, Michigan State
Laura Heyboer, F, Michigan State
Tiffany Cameron, M, Ohio State
Cassie Dickerson, D, Ohio State
Paige Maxwell, F, Ohio State
Christine Nairn, M, Penn State
Liz Secue, D, Purdue
Meghan Flannery, D, Wisconsin
Laurie Nosbusch, F, Wisconsin

Second Team
Nkem Ezurike, F, Michigan
Katelin Chaklos, D, Michigan State
Katie Bethke, F, Minnesota
Kylie Kallman, D, Minnesota
Tani Costa, F, Penn State
Emma Thomson, D, Penn State
Danielle Toney, F, Penn State
Lauren Montenegro, M, Purdue
Michele Dalton, GK, Wisconsin
Erin Jacobsen, M, Wisconsin
Alev Kelter, M, Wisconsin 

All-Freshman Team* 
Megan Pawloski, F, Illinois
Meghan Toohey, M, Michigan
Kelsey Mullen, D, Michigan State
Kate Allen, F, Northwestern
Megan Fuller, D, Ohio State
Rachel Middleman, GK, Ohio State
Danica Wu, M, Ohio State
Tani Costa, F, Penn State 
Bri Hovington, D, Penn State

* Additional honorees due to a tie
Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Kristen Gierman, So., Illinois
Jocelyn Moses, Sr., Indiana
Amanda Martin, Sr., Iowa
Jackie Carron, Sr., Michigan
Courtney Shegos, Sr., Michigan State
Julie Rezac, Sr., Minnesota
Colleen Antas, Sr., Northwestern
Lauren Beachy, Sr., Ohio State
Megan Monroig, Sr., Penn State
Lauren Montenegro, Jr., Purdue
Leigh Williams, Jr., Wisconsin