Eight Big Ten Women's Soccer Teams Earn Bids to 2013 NCAA Championship

Holly Hein

Nov. 11, 2013

Rosemont, Ill. – A conference record eight Big Ten women’s soccer teams will compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, it was announced on Monday. Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State all earned berths to the national tournament, which begins on Friday. The previous record of six Big Ten teams occurred in 1998, 2002 and 2010.

Illinois makes its fourth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament after posting a 10-8-2 record during the regular season, and scoring a Big Ten second-best 49 goals. The Fighting Illini will travel to Pullman, Wash., to take on Washington State in the first round.

Indiana is making its first appearance in the NCAA Championship since 2007, and its fourth overall. The Hoosiers compiled a 14-6-1 record and advanced to the Big Ten Tournament semifinals. Indiana will entertain DePaul in Bloomington, Ind., in its first-round match.

Iowa makes its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament after collecting a 15-6-1 record this season, including a trip to the Big Ten Tournament championship game. The Hawkeyes will travel to South Bend, Ind., to take on Notre Dame for the first round.

Making its 12th appearance in the NCAA Championship, Michigan secured a No. 3 seed and will face Milwaukee in the opening round. The Wolverines finished the season with a 15-3-1 record, including an eight-game winning streak to end the regular season.

Minnesota, which finished the season 11-7-2, earned its eighth appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Golden Gophers will travel to Texas Tech in their opening match.

After winning its first Big Ten title and the Big Ten Tournament Championship, Nebraska earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament. The Cornhuskers will host Southeastern Louisiana in the first round.

Ohio State makes its fifth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championship after compiling a 10-6-3 record during the regular season. The Buckeyes will travel to Lexington, Ky., to take on Kentucky in their first-round match.

Penn State, which was last year’s national runner-up, earned a No. 4 seed in its 19th appearance in the tournament. After finishing the season with a 14-6-1 record, the Nittany Lions will face Monmouth in University Park, Pa., in the opening round.

The first round of the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship will be played on Friday and Saturday. The second and third rounds of the tournament are scheduled for Nov. 22 and Nov. 24, while the quarterfinals will be played Nov. 29 and Nov. 30. The 2013 NCAA Women’s College Cup will be held at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C., with semifinal games on Dec. 6 and the championship match on Dec. 8.

NCAA Tournament Schedule 
Friday, Nov. 15
No. 2 Nebraska vs. Southeastern Louisiana – 3 p.m.
Iowa vs. Notre Dame – 7 p.m.
Ohio State vs. Kentucky – 7:30 p.m.
No. 4 Penn State vs. Monmouth – 7:30 p.m.
Minnesota vs. Texas Tech – 8 p.m. 

Saturday, Nov. 16
Illinois vs. Washington State – 4 p.m.
Indiana vs. DePaul – 7 p.m.
No. 3 Michigan vs. Milwaukee – 7 p.m. 

All Times are Eastern

For the complete NCAA Tournament bracket, click here.