Women’s Soccer All-Americans/All-Region Honorees
Dec. 6, 2017

Four Big Ten Conference women’s soccer students received All-America honors for the 2016 season, it was announced during last weekend’s NCAA Women’s College Cup by United Soccer Coaches (formerly the National Soccer Coaches Association of America).

Rutgers junior goalkeeper Casey Murphy leads this year’s Big Ten All-America contingent, earning her second All-America citation as a first-team honoree after garnering second-team status in 2015. A semifinalist for this year’s MAC Hermann Trophy, Murphy was the 2017 Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year and a first-team all-conference selection after leading the Big Ten and ranking second nationally in goals-against average (0.267), save percentage (.924) and shutouts (16). She also ranks second in Big Ten history and fourth in the NCAA Division I record books with 45 career shutouts.

Big Ten Champion Ohio State had two students receive All-America accolades, with senior defender Morgan Wolcott garnering second-team plaudits and senior midfielder Nikki Walts earning third-team honors. They are the first Buckeyes to collect All-America certificates since Tiffany Cameron in 2012. Wolcott was the 2017 Big Ten Defender of the Year, while Walts was this season’s Big Ten Midfielder of the Year, and both also received first-team all-conference and second-team Academic All-District recognition.

Purdue senior forward Maddy Williams was also chosen as a second-team All-American this year. Williams is the first Boilermaker All-America selection since 2007, when Parrissa Eyorokon and Kira Bilecky received the prestigious honor. The 2017 Big Ten Forward of the Year, Williams led or was tied for the Big Ten lead this season in goals (14), goals per game (0.74), points (36), points per game (1.89), game-winning goals (6), shots (79) and shots per game (4.16).

Including the four Big Ten All-Americans, a total of 24 Big Ten women’s soccer students from nine conference programs earned United Soccer Coaches All-Midwest Region honors this season.

The first-team all-region selections featured: Sydney Squires (Minnesota), Marisa Viggiano (Northwestern), Walts, Wolcott and Sammy Edwards (Ohio State), Emily Ogle (Penn State), Williams (Purdue), Murphy and Chantelle Swaby (Rutgers), and Dani Rhodes and Victoria Pickett (Wisconsin).

The second-team all-region honorees were: Jamie Cheslik (Michigan State), Haley Hanson and Sinclaire Miramontez (Nebraska), Lauren Clem and Kayla Sharples (Northwestern), Devon Kerr and Sarah Roberts (Ohio State), Laura Freigang and Kaleigh Riehl (Penn State), and Amirah Ali (Rutgers).

The third-team all-region standouts included: Tori Burnett (Minnesota), Hannah Davison (Northwestern) and Sammy Kleedtke (Wisconsin).

This year’s United Soccer Coaches All-America selections will be honored Jan. 20, 2018, during the United Soccer Coaches All-America Luncheon at the United Soccer Coaches Convention in downtown Philadelphia.

The full list of this year’s All-America selections can be found by CLICKING HERE, while the All-Midwest Region team honorees are LISTED HERE.