NSCAA Women's Soccer Scholars

Dec. 15, 2016

A total of 14 women’s soccer students representing eight Big Ten Conference schools have earned Scholar All-Region honors, including three who received Scholar All-America citations, it was announced today by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Minnesota senior defender Rashida Beal and Northwestern junior goalkeeper Lauren Clem were first-team NSCAA Scholar All-Americans, while the Golden Gophers’ Josee Stiever, a senior midfielder, garnered second-team NSCAA Scholar All-America recognition.

Minnesota and Nebraska each had three students chosen for NSCAA Scholar All-Region status, while Michigan and Northwestern both had two students selected and Indiana, Ohio State, Purdue and Wisconsin all featured one student honoree.

Thirteen of the Big Ten’s 14 NSCAA Scholar All-Region students were chosen from the NSCAA’s North/Central Region, including first-team designees Beal, Clem and Stiever, as well as Nebraska senior midfielder Sydney Miramontez.

Five Big Ten students received second-team NSCAA Scholar All-Region honors. Indiana senior defender Marissa Borschke, Minnesota junior defender Maddie Gaffney, Northwestern senior midfielder Nandi Mehta and Wisconsin junior forward Sydney McGinnis all represented the North/Central Region, while Ohio State senior forward Lindsay Agnew collected second-team scholar honors from the East Region.

Michigan senior defenders Madisson Lewis and Anna Soccorsi, along with Nebraska senior midfielders Courtney Claassen and Caroline Flynn and Purdue senior defender Megan Kaser on the NSCAA Scholar All-North/Central Region Third Team.

The complete NSCAA Scholar All-America and Scholar All-Region teams can be found here.