Nine Earn Academic All-District Softball Honors

May 4, 2017

Nine Big Ten softball students representing five conference schools have earned Academic All-District honors, it was announced Thursday by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Seven of the nine honorees collected first-team Academic All-District recognition, making them eligible for Academic All-America consideration, with those selections made later this month.

A trio of Illinois students — Stephanie Abello, Nicole Evans and Annie Fleming — along with duos from Michigan State (Lea Foerster and Kristina Zalewski) and Minnesota (Sydney Dwyer and Sara Groenewegen), earned first-team Academic All-District laurels, while Indiana’s CaraMia Tsirigos and Michigan’s Abby Ramirez received second-team Academic All-District plaudits on Thursday. Fleming, Foerster and Ramirez are two-time Academic All-District selections, while the other six softball students earned their first honors.

Of the Big Ten’s seven first-team Academic All-District softball standouts who will appear on the national ballot, all seven are aiming to be Academic All-Americans for the first time in their respective careers.

Seven of the nine Big Ten softball students to earn Academic All-District status on Thursday (Abello, Evans, Fleming, Foerster, Ramirez, Tsirigos and Zalewski) were selected from District 5, which covers the state of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio. Meanwhile, Dwyer and Groenewegen emerged from District 6, which includes Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

The full list of CoSIDA Academic All-District softball teams can be found by CLICKING HERE.