Big Ten Announces Softball All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Award Winners

Michigan's Haylie Wagner was named Big Ten Pitcher and Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.

May 16, 2012

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 2012 All-Conference softball teams and individual award winners. For the second consecutive year, Michigan’s Amanda Chidester was named Big Ten Player of the Year, becoming the first player to win back-to-back honors since Northwestern’s Tammy Williams achieved the feat in 2008 and 2009. Wolverine head coach Carol Hutchins garnered Coach of the Year honors also for the second straight year. Michigan’s Haylie Wagner was a double winner, taking home Pitcher and Freshman of the Year honors, becoming the first player to win both awards since former Wolverine Kelly Kovach in 1992.

Chidester garners Player of the Year honors for the second time following a season in which she batted .433 during Big Ten play, and finished in the conference’s top 10 in numerous offensive statistical categories, including average and on-base percentage (.562), slugging percentage (.657) and total bases (44). She gives Michigan its 16th overall Player of the Year honor and fourth in the last three years. Former Wolverine standouts Nikki Nemitz and Maggie Viefhaus shared the honor in 2010.

Wagner is the conference’s Pitcher and Freshman of the Year after leading the Big Ten in numerous statistical categories. She posted a conference-best 1.77 ERA and .207 opponents’ batting average after appearing in 22 of the Wolverines’ 23 Big Ten games this season. She finished the season with a Big Ten-best 15 wins in conference games, allowing the third-fewest runs (31) despite recording the second-most innings pitched (110.2). She is the third Wolverine in four years to claim Pitcher of the Year honors, following Nemitz in 2009 and Jordan Taylor in 2010, and the 12th winner overall. It is the 11th time a Michigan player has won Freshman of the Year honors, and Wagner becomes the first since Taylor won the award in 2008.



After guiding Michigan to its fifth straight Big Ten title and 15th overall, Hutchins garnered Coach of the Year accolades for the 13th time. The Wolverines finished the Big Ten season 18-5 and were consistently ranked in the national polls. The Wolverines head to the NCAA Championships this weekend, their 20th appearance in program history.

The Big Ten also announced the 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees from each institution. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 2012 All-Big Ten teams and individual honorees can be found below.

All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Honorees

First Team
C – Liz Watkins, Sr., IOWA
1B – Amanda Chidester, Sr. MICH
2B – Whitney Massey, Jr., WIS
SS – Megan Blank, Fr., IOWA
3B – Marisa Bast, So., NU
OF – Kylene Hopkins, Jr., MSU
OF – Kendall Grimm, Jr., WIS
UT – Sara Driesenga, Fr., MICH
DP – Shannon Cawley, Fr., IND
P – Kayla Massey, So., IOWA

Second Team*
C – Kasie Hatfield, So., PSU
1B – Adrienne Monka, Jr., NU
2B – Courtney Breault, Jr., NEB
SS – Emily Allard, Jr., NU
3B – Amanda Wagner, Jr., IND
OF – Bree Evans, Sr., MICH
OF – Nicole Sappingfield, So., MICH
OF – Brooke Thomason, Jr., NEB
UT – Amy Letourneau, Fr., NU
DP – Michelle Zoeller, So., IOWA
P – Pepper Gay, Jr., ILL
P – Ashley Hagemann, Sr., NEB
P – Cassandra Darrah, So., WIS

Third Team
C– Cassie Gogreve, Sr., IND
OF – Johnnie Dowling, Jr., IOWA
2B – Ashley Lane, Jr., MICH
P – Sara Moulton, So., MINN
SS – Tyler Walker, Fr., MINN
3B – Gabby Banda, Jr., NEB
UT – Tatum Edwards, So., NEB
SS – Alicia Herron, Sr., OSU
C – Shelby Pickett, Fr., OSU
1B – Ashley Courtney, Jr., PUR
DP – Karla Powell, Sr., WIS

Player of the Year: Amanda Chidester, MICH
Pitcher of the Year: HAYLIE WAGNER, MICH
Freshman of the Year: Haylie Wagner, MICH
Coach of the Year: Carol Hutchins, MICH

* - Additional honorees due to tie
CAPS indicate unanimous selection

Sportsmanship Honorees
Kelley Wedel, ILL; Amanda Wagner, IND; Katie Keim, IOWA; Caitlin Blanchard, MICH; Lori Padilla, MSU; Dannie Skrove; MINN; Ashley Guile, NEB; Mari Majam, NU; Megan Coletta, OSU; Danee Collett, PSU; Ashley Courtney, PUR; Stephanie Peace, WIS