NFCA All-Americans

June 1, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. — Nine Big Ten softball students from six conference schools earned National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Division I All-America honors, it was announced Wednesday by the NFCA.

The Minnesota battery of senior pitcher Sara Groenewegen (the Big Ten Pitcher of the Year and Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player) and freshman catcher Kendyl Lindaman (the Big Ten Player and Freshman of the Year) earned first-team recognition, while Michigan had three students receive All-America status – senior pitcher Megan Betsa (second team), senior outfielder Kelly Christner (second team) and sophomore infielder Faith Canfield (third team).

Four other Big Ten schools each had one NFCA All-American — Michigan State junior outfielder Lea Foerster collected second-team accolades, while Illinois senior outfielder Nicole Evans, Ohio State sophomore infielder Lilli Piper and Wisconsin senior catcher Chloe Miller earned third-team plaudits.

Five of the 2017 Big Ten softball All-Americans garnered Academic All-Big Ten honors earlier this week — Christner, Evans, Foerster, Groenewegen and Miller — with three also earning Academic All-America status (Evans on the first team, Foerster on the second team, Groenewegen on the third team). It should be noted that, as a freshman, Lindaman was not eligible for either Academic All-Big Ten or Academic All-America honors.

This year’s nine NFCA All-America selections are the most for the Big Ten since 2005, when 10 conference students received All-America recognition.

For a complete list of the 2017 NFCA Division I All-America Teams, CLICK HERE.