Indiana Takes Home Weekly Awards

Jan. 11, 2011

Park Ridge, Ill. -
The conference office announced on Tuesday the weekly women's swimming and diving honors. Indiana swept the weekly laurels as sophomore Taylor Wohrley earned the nod as Swimmer of the Week and freshman Laura Ryan picked up Diver of the Week honors.

Women's Swimmer of the Week
Taylor Wohrley - Indiana
So. - Wentzville, Mo. - Timberland

Indiana's Taylor Wohrley posted victories in every event swam and recorded four NCAA provisional cuts in the Hoosiers' 157-127 victory over Michigan last weekend. Wohrley opened the meet with the 200-yard medley relay and led Indiana to victory in a provisional time of 1:42.61. Wohrley then swept the backstroke events, posting NCAA `B' times of 54.89 in the 100 backstroke and 1:59.42 in the 200 backstroke. She finished the meet by swimming the second leg of the 400 freestyle relay, which finished in an NCAA provisional time of 3:23.97. This marks the first weekly award of Wohrley's career.

Last Indiana Women's Swimmer of the Week: Margaux Farrell (Jan. 26, 2010)

Women's Diver of the Week
Laura Ryan - Indiana
Fr. - Elk River, Minn. - Elk River

Indiana's Laura Ryan earns the first weekly diving award of her career after a successful dual against Michigan last weekend. The Hoosier earned her first career victory on the platform with a season-best score and NCAA Zone qualifying mark of 350.85. On the one-meter springboard, the freshman earned an NCAA Zone qualifying mark and a top-five finish, placing fourth with a tally of 289.58.

Last Indiana Women's Diver of the Week: Gabby Agostino (Nov. 23, 2010)

2010-11 Big Ten Women's Swimmer/Diver of the Week

Oct. 12
S: Jillian Tyler, Sr., MINN
D: Amanda Lohman, Jr., MICH
Oct. 19
S: Ashley Wanland, Jr., WIS
D: Margaret Keefer, Fr., MINN
Oct. 26
S: Amy Modglin, So., PSU
D: Erin Mertz, Sr., PUR
Nov. 2
S: Adrienne Bicek, So., MICH
S: Rebecka Palm, Fr., WIS
D: Gabby Agostino, Jr., IND
Nov. 9
S: Maggie Meyer, Sr., WIS
D: Erin Mertz, Sr., PUR
Nov. 16
S: Jillian Tyler, Sr., MINN
D: Bianca Alvarez, Jr., OSU
Nov. 23
S: Megan Detro, So., OSU
D: Gabby Agostino, Jr., IND
Dec. 7
S: Maggie Meyer, Sr., WIS
D: Kelci Bryant, Jr., MINN
Dec. 14
S: Katarina Tour, Sr., IOWA
D: Sarah Clay, Jr., MSU
Jan. 4
S: No selection
D: Ilana Zeises, Sr., PSU
Jan. 11
S: Taylor Wohrley, So., IND
D: Laura Ryan, Fr., IND