2007 Conference Honors

Feb. 10, 2007

At the conclusion of the meet, the Big Ten Conference awarded All-Conference honors as well as individual awards to the following individuals:

Swimmer of the Year
Yi Ting Siow, Wisconsin

Swimmer of the Championships
Lindsey Smith, Michigan

Diver of the Championships
Chirstina Loukas, Indiana

Freshman of the Year
Presley Bard, Indiana

Diver of the Year
Christina Loukas, Indiana

Swimming Coach of the Year
Ray Looze, Indiana

Diving Coach of the Year
Jeff Huber, Indiana

First Team All-Big Ten
Indiana: Allison Kay, Christina Loukas, Leila Vaziri, Sarah Stockwell, Presley Bard, Annica Lofsedt
Michigan: Kaitlyn Brady, Margaret Kelly, Hannah Smith, Lindsey Smith
Minnesota: Christine Jennings, Meredith McCarthy, Jenny Shaughnessy, Yuen Kobayashi
Penn State: Kaitlin O'Brien, Lyndsey Smith
Wisconsin: Yi Ting Siow, Jackie Vavrek, Susan Johnson, Katie Imhoff-Smith

Second Team All-Big Ten
Illinois: Barbie Viney
Indiana: Amilee Smith, Lindsay Weigle, Clarissa Wentworth, Valeria Silva
Michigan: Emily Brunemann, Elyse Lee
Northwestern: Andrea Hupman, Emily Wong, Jenn Kocsis, Kassia Shishkoff
Purdue: Amanda Miller, Carlene Takaki
Wisconsin: Hannah McClurg, Christine Zweigers

Sportsmanship Nominees
Prior to Friday's finals honorees for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award from each team were recognized. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Honorees for women's swimming and diving are Illinois' Caroline Moore, Indiana's Christie Fuchs, Iowa's Robin Samples, Michigan's Lindsey Smith, Michigan State's Danielle Sawyer, Minnesota's Holly Jakis, Northwestern's Jessie Bailis, Ohio State's Rebekah Rychvalsky, Penn State's Erin Morris, Purdue's Rory Belk and Wisconsin's Kristy Brager. These eleven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.