Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Championships Release

Feb. 14, 2012

Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

The Campus Recreation and Wellness Center on the campus of the University of Iowa will play host to the 2012 Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships, which will begin Wednesday and conclude Saturday night. The championships begin Wednesday night with timed finals of the 200-yard medley relay and 800 freestyle relays at 6:30 p.m. CT. Competition will begin at 11 a.m. CT Thursday through Saturday with preliminary heats, while finals will be held at 6:30 p.m. CT nightly.

Thursday’s schedule features the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle and one-meter diving, while the 200 freestyle relay will be contested during the evening finals. Friday’s slate presents the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and three-meter diving, with the 400 medley relay contested during the finals. Saturday features the 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, 1,650 freestyle and platform diving, while the 400 freestyle relay will be contested during the evening.

Last season, Indiana won its third consecutive Big Ten Championship and fifth overall, recording 821 points over the four-day event. Minnesota finished second with 578 points, and Ohio State was third with 456. Penn State came in fourth with 391 points, and Purdue rounded out the top five with 385.5 points.

The defending champion Hoosiers return a pair of individual winners from a year ago. Allysa Vavra looks for her third consecutive 400 individual medley victory and to repeat in the 200 individual medley, while Laura Ryan looks for her second platform diving crown in as many years.

Wisconsin junior Rebecca Thompson looks to defend her 50 freestyle crown, while classmate Ashley Wanland enters the championships looking to improve upon her runner-up finish in the 100 breaststroke from a year ago. Minnesota’s Ashley Steenvoorden returns to defend her 500 and 1,650 freestyle crowns

Last year’s relay events were led by Wisconsin, as the Badgers won the 200 and 400 medley relays and the 400 freestyle relay. Michigan took home the 200 freestyle relay honors, and Indiana won the 800 freestyle relay.