Indiana Looks To Defend Crown At 2010 Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Championships

Feb. 16, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Boilermaker Aquatic Center on the campus of Purdue University will play host to the 2010 Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, which will begin Wednesday and conclude Saturday night. The championships will begin Wednesday night with timed finals of the 200-yard medley and 800-yard freestyle relays at 6:30 p.m. ET. Each day throughout the remainder of the championships will begin at 11 a.m. ET with preliminary heats, while the finals will be held at 6:30 p.m. ET nightly.

Live video and complete results can be found throughout the championships at

Thursday's schedule will feature the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle and one-meter diving, while the 200 freestyle relay will be contested during the evening finals. On Friday, the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and three-meter diving, along with the 400 medley relay, will be contested. Saturday's final day features the 1,650 freestyle, 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, platform diving and the 400 freestyle relay.

Last season, the Indiana Hoosiers won their third Big Ten Championship in program history, recording 823 points over the four-day event to cement themselves as the top team in the conference in 2009. Minnesota finished second overall with 665 points and Penn State was third with 429. Michigan was close behind with 414 points and Wisconsin rounded out the top five with 405 points.

The defending champion Hoosiers return a pair of individual champions from a year ago. Sophomore Nikki White returns as the defending 500 freestyle champion and senior backstroke specialist Kate Fesenko looks to defend her crowns in the 100 and 200 backstroke.

Wisconsin sophomore Rebecca Thompson returns as the 50 freestyle champion and the runner-up in the 100 free while classmate Ashley Wanland enters the championships as the defending 200 breaststroke champion and was the runner-up in the 100 distance a year ago.

Minnesota returns a trio of 2009 champions looking to duplicate their feats from a year ago. Sophomore Ashley Steenvoorden was the winner of the 1,650 freestyle last year and also took runner-up honors in the 500. Junior Jillian Tyler held the winning time in the 100 breaststroke in 2009, while classmate Megan Braun looks to repeat as 200 butterfly champion.

In the diving well, Purdue's Ashley Karnes is the lone returning champion from 2009, having won the one-meter diving crown last season. She also earned runner-up honors off the three-meter springboard at last year's meet.

Last year's freestyle relays were dominated by Minnesota as the Gophers won the 200, 400 and 800 freestyle relays. Wisconsin won the 200 medley relay, while the Hoosiers claimed the 400 medley relay.