Michigan Wins 2018 Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Championships
Feb. 17, 2018
Complete Results (PDF)

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Michigan claimed the 2018 Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship Saturday at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion on the campus of Ohio State University. The title marks the team’s third consecutive conference crown.

Michigan collected 1,465 total points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 1,152.5 points and Ohio State was third with 1,094.5 points. Minnesota finished fourth with 1,049 points, while Wisconsin recorded 755 points to finish fifth.

The Wolverines took home titles in the 800-yard freestyle relay (Yirong, G. Deloof, C. Deloof, Ryan; 6:56.28) and the 500-yard freestyle (Yirong Bi; 4:38.88), as well as placed first and set new Big Ten Championships records in the 200-yard individual medley (Siobhan Haughey: 1:53.59), the 200-yard butterfly (Vanessa Krause; 1:53.44), the 200-yard freestyle (Siobhan Haughey: 1:41.66) and the 400-yard freestyle relay (C. Deloof, Haughey, Pyshnenko, G. Deloof; 3:10.96).

Wisconsin’s Beata Nelson was named Swimmer of the Championships, while Minnesota’s Sarah Bacon and Northwestern’s Olivia Rosendahl were tabbed Co-Diver of the Championships. Ohio State’s Kristen Romano claimed Freshman of the Year honors.

The complete 2018 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.

2018 Big Ten Individual Honors
Swimmer of the Championships: Beata Nelson, So., Wisconsin
Co-Diver of the Championships: Sarah Bacon, So. Minnesota
Co-Diver of the Championships: Olivia Rosendahl, Jr., Northwestern
Freshman of the Year: Kristen Romano, Ohio State

2018 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team
Alexandra Rockett, SR, IND
Lilly King, JR, IND
Christine Jensen, JR, IND
Grace Haskett, FR, IND
Yirong Bi, JR, MICH
Gabrielle Deloof, SR, MICH
Catherine Deloof, JR, MICH
G Ryan, SR, MICH
Siobhan Haughey, JR, MICH
Sarah Bacon, SO, MINN
Liz Li, SR, OSU
Olivia Rosendahl, JR, NU
Freya Rayner, FR, OSU
Macie McNichols, SR, OSU
Maria Coy, JR, OSU
Allyson McHugh, JR, PSU
Beata Nelson, SO, WIS
Vanessa Krause, SO, MICH
Meg Bailey, SR, OSU
Jessica Parratto, JR, IND
Daria Pyshnenko, FR, MICH

Second Team
Tevyn Waddell, SO, MINN
Lindsey Kozelsky, SO, MINN
Danielle Nack, SR, MINN
Zoe Avestruz, JR, MINN
Chantal Nack, JR, MINN
Mackenzie Padington, FR, MINN
Kaersten Meitz, SR, PUR
Addison Walkowiak, SR, RU
Clara Smiddy, SR, MICH
Miranda Tucker, SO, MICH
Kristen Romano, FR, OSU

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Emily Martin, So., Illinois
Rachel Matsumura, Sr., Indiana
Meghan Hackett, So., Iowa
G Ryan, Sr., Michigan
Becca Hannon, Sr., Michigan State
Kaia Grobe, Jr., Minnesota
Jacqueline Jeschke, Jr., Nebraska
Mary Warren, Sr., Northwestern
Mikayla Murphy, Jr., Ohio State
Hannah Harper, Sr., Penn State
Taite Kitchel, Jr., Purdue
Karlie Rymer, Sr., Rutgers
Maddie Martin, Sr., Wisconsin