Indiana Leads Heading into Final Day at Big Ten Championships

Feb. 18, 2011

Big Ten Championships Central

Day Three Results

Indiana resumed its place atop the team standings after claiming an individual event title and two runner-up finishes on Day Three of the Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships at the Counsilman-Billingsley Awuatic Center in Bloomington, Ind. The Hoosiers will enter the fourth and final day of competition with 531 points, 136 points ahead of runner-up Minnesota. The Gophers also compiled two conference titles to amass 395 points. With seven events remaining, Ohio State currently occupies the third spot with 302 tallies. Behind the Buckeyes, Penn State's 275 points and Purdue's 255.5 total round out the top five.

Indiana's Allysa Vavra won her second title of the Championships, earning her second consecutive 400 individual medley race, setting a new Big Ten, Big Ten Meet, Pool and School record of a time of 4:04.59.

Minnesota senior Jillian Tyler earned top-honors in the 100 breaststroke, breaking her own Big Ten and Big Ten Meet records with a time of 58.08.

Already the one-meter champion, Minnesota's Kelci Bryant continued her winnings ways on Day Three, sweeping the springboard events for the second consecutive year, with a mark of 421.70.

Wisconsin earned a pair of conference titles, starting with the 400 medley relay team of Margaret Meyer, Ashley Wanland, Rebecka Palm and Rebecca Thompson, setting a new pool record of 3:32.47.

The Badgers picked up their second Big Ten title of the evening of the strength of Margaret Meyer in the 100 backstroke, with a NCAA provisional time of 51.88. This marks the first ever win by Wisconsin in the event.

Michigan secured a Big Ten crown in the 100 butterfly with junior Caitlin Dauw in a time of 52:41, making it the sixth straight year a Wolverine has won the event.



Ohio State's Samantha Cheverton earned top-honors in the 200 freestyle, after finishing runner-up last season. Her time of 1:44.56 earned a NCAA provisional time.

Prior to the start of the evening session, the conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes chosen must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of sports-competition setting. Honorees for women's swimming and diving are Illinois' Rachel Japp-Joyce, Indiana's Heidi Mahnken, Iowa's Caitlin Polz, Michigan's Natasha Moodie, Michigan State's Sarah Falconer, Minnesota's Molly Belk, Northwestern's Alex Kraus, Ohio State's Sara Griffith, Penn State's Rose Snyder, Purdue's Emily McIlrath and Wisconsin's Jenna Haney. These 11 studnet-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Action concludes Saturday with prelimiary sessions set for 11 a.m. ET to be followed by finals at 6:30 p.m. A complete schedule of events, as well as live results and live video fromthe championships, can be found at