Minnesota Captures 2012 Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Championships Crown

Feb. 18, 2012

  • Championships Central
  • Final Results (PDF)

    Minnesota captured the 2012 Big Ten women's swimming and diving championships crown tonight on the strength of Tess Behrens and Haley Spencer on the final day of competition at the Campus and Recreation Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa.

    The Golden Gophers amassed 680.5 points over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 651 points and Ohio State was third with 560 points. Wisconsin tallied 411 points, while Penn State compiled 379.5 points to round out the top five in the final team standings.

    Minnesota took home five individual Big Ten titles, while head coach Kelly Kremer picked up Swimming Coach of the Year laurels and Golden Gopher sophomore Maggie Keefer and Ohio State senior Bianca Alvarez were tabbed Co-Divers of the Championships.

    Indiana's Allysa Vavra claimed Swimmer of the Championships honors, Iowa's Becky Stoughton was tabbed Freshman of the Year, and Ohio State's Vince Panzano earned Diving Coach of the Year accolades.

    2012 Big Ten Individual Honors

    Swimmer of the Championships: Allysa Vavra, Indiana
    Co-Divers of the Championships: Maggie Keefer, Minnesota; Bianca Alvarez, Ohio State
    Freshman of the Year: Becky Stoughton, Iowa
    Swimming Coach of the Year: Kelly Kremer, Minnesota
    Diving Coach of the Year: Vince Panzano, Ohio State 

    2012 All-Big Ten Teams

    First Team
    Margaux Farrell, Indiana
    Brittany Strumbel, Indiana
    Allysa Vavra, Indiana
    Lindsay Vrooman, Indiana
    Jessica White, Indiana
    Tess Behrens, Minnesota
    Haley Spencer, Minnesota
    Ashley Steenvoorden, Minnesota
    Hannah Whitehead, Minnesota
    Bianca Alvarez, Ohio State
    Cheyenne Cousineau, Ohio State
    Shannon Draves, Ohio State
    Merritt Krawczyk, Penn State
    Samantha Palser, Penn State
    Mackenzie Powers, Penn State
    Katherine Pulos, Penn State
    Erin Thomas, Penn State
    Paige Whitmire, Penn State
    Ivy Martin, Wisconsin
    Ruby Martin, Wisconsin
    Laura Miller, Wisconsin
    Amie Osten, Wisconsin
    Rebecka Palm, Wisconsin
    Rebecca Thompson, Wisconsin
    Aja Van Hout, Wisconsin
    Ashley Wanland, Wisconsin

    Second Team
    Brenna MacLean, Indiana
    Justine Ress, Indiana
    Caitlin Dauw, Michigan
    Maggie Keefer, Minnesota
    Jessica Plant, Minnesota
    Tori Simenec, Minnesota
    Lauren Weis, Minnesota
    Felicitas Lenz, Northwestern
    Jacline Brousseau, Ohio State
    Phoebe Cater, Ohio State
    Emily Creran, Ohio State
    Megan Detro, Ohio State
    Kelsey Moran, Ohio State
    Angela Severn, Ohio State
    Michelle Williams, Ohio State
    Emily Fogle, Purdue
    Rhiannon Sheets, Purdue
    Monika Stitski, Wisconsin

    Sportsmanship Award
    Rachel Japp-Joyce, Illinois
    Laura Head, Indiana
    Abby Tuchscherer, Iowa
    Linnea Johnson, Michigan
    Morgan Piasecki, Michigan State
    Annalise Colton, Minnesota
    Ashley Reiter, Nebraska
    Shelby Johnson, Northwestern
    Kristyn Fulcher, Ohio State
    Kristen Rodman, Penn State
    Carly Marshall, Purdue
    Ashley Wanland, Wisconsin