Indiana Leads Heading into Final Day at Big Ten Championships

Feb. 19, 2010

Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships Central

Day Three Results

Indiana resumed its place atop the team standings after claiming three individual titles on Day Three of the Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center in West Lafayette, Ind. The Hoosiers will enter the fourth and final day of competition with 451 points, 32.5 points ahead of runner-up Minnesota. The Gophers also compiled three conference titles to amass 418.5 points. With seven events remaining, Purdue currently occupies the third spot with 318 team tallies. Behind the Boilermakers, Michigan’s 314.5 points and Ohio State’s 283.5 total round out the top five.

Indiana’s Allysa Vavra picked up her first Big Ten title by running away from the field with a time of 4:06.94 in the 400 individual medley. Her mark is the second-fastest time in program history and automatically qualifies her for the NCAA meet.

The Hoosiers picked up their second Big Ten title of the evening on the strength of Margaux Farrell’s winning performance in the 200 freestyle with a career best time of 1:45.32.

Senior Donna Smailis continued the IU winning streak taking the title in the 100 fly. The Highland, Ind., native touched the wall in an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 52.66, setting an new career best and school record in the event. Later in the evening, Smailis returned to post a second-place finish in the 100 backstroke with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 52.55 – also a career best.

Minnesota earned top-honors in the 400 medley relay, edging Indiana by one second in 3:35.12 for the Big Ten title. Later in the evening, Gopher junior Jillian Tyler returned to the pool to repeat as individual champion in the 100 breaststroke with an NCAA automatic time of 59.35.

Already the one-meter champion, Minnesota’s Kelci Bryant continued her winning ways on Day Three, sweeping the springboard events with a winning mark of 386.60 in the three-meter competition. Ohio State’s diving tandem, Bianca Alvarez and Chelsea Davis rounded out the top three spots in the event, recording scores of 375.0 and 363.05, respectively.

Wisconsin junior Maggie Meyer claimed the Badgers' fourth title of this year's Big Ten championships by matching her own school-record time to take the 100-yard backstroke in an NCAA "A" qualifying time of 52.27.The win gives Meyer her fifth career Big Ten title, and her first in an individual event.

Prior to the start of the evening session, the conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for women’s swimming and diving are Illinois’ CeCe Marizu, Indiana’s Amilee Smith, Iowa’s Caitlin Polz Michigan’s Claire Tyler, Michigan State’s Kara Wackerle, Minnesota’s Megan Braun , Northwestern’s Genny Szymanksi, Ohio State’s Sara Ratica, Penn State’s Daphne Skelos, Purdue’s Christine Inman and Wisconsin’s Lauren Borja. These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Action concludes Saturday with a preliminary session set for 11 a.m. ET to be followed by finals at 6:30 p.m. A complete schedule of events, as well as live results and live video from the championships, can be found at