Indiana Captures Second Straight Big Ten Championship

Feb. 20, 2010

Big Ten Championships Central

Day Four Results

Indiana captured its second straight conference title on the strength of record setting performance from Kate Fesenko and Donna Smailis on the final day of competition at the Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships in West Lafayette, Ind.

The Hoosiers amassed 758 points over the four-day event to successfully defend the conference crown. Minnesota finished second with 572.5 and Michigan was third with 462.5. Championships host Purdue tallied 460 points while Ohio State's compiled 399.5 points to round out the top five in the final team standings.

Indiana took home a whopping seven individual Big Ten titles and two relay crowns. IU newcomer Taylor Wohrley was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, and Fesenko earned the nod as Swimmer of the Championships and Big Ten Swimmer of the Year.

Minnesota’s Kelci Bryant received Big Ten Diver of the Year and Diver of the Championships laurels after sweeping the springboard events at this year’s meet. Gopher mentor Wenbo Chen was tabbed Diving Coach of the Year.

Purdue head general John Klinge was voted Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year by his peers after guiding the Boilermakers to their highest score in program history at the conference championships. The Boilers set 17 school records while also recording 94 season-best marks over the four-day event.

2010 Big Ten Individual Honors

Freshman of the Year: Taylor Wohrley, Indiana
Swimmer of the Championships:  Kate Fesenko, Indiana
Swimmer of the Year: Kate Fesenko, Indiana
Diver of the Championships: Kelci Bryant, Minnesota
Diver of the Year: Kelci Bryant, Minnesota
Swimming Coach of the Year: John Klinge, Purdue
Diving Coach of the Year: Wenbo Chen, Minnesota

Gabby Agostino, Indiana
Margaux Farrell, Indiana
Kate Fesenko, Indiana
Donna Smailis, Indiana
Brittany Strumbel, Indiana
Allysa Vavra, Indiana
Nikki White, Indiana
Taylor Wohrley, Indiana
Margaret Kelly, Michigan
Kelci Bryant, Minnesota
Alison Eggers, Minnesota
Kaylee Jamison, Minnesota
Haley Spencer, Minnesota
Ashley Steenvoorden, Minnesota
Jillian Tyler, Minnesota
Hannah Whitehead, Minnesota
Kelsey Gergen, Wisconsin
Karlyn Hougan, Wisconsin
Ruby Martin, Wisconsin
Margaret Meyer, Wisconsin
Rebecca Thompson, Wisconsin
Ashley Wanland, Wisconsin

Britt Barwegen, Indiana
Ashley Jones, Indiana
Ashley Specht, Indiana
Emily Brunemann, Michigan
Leigh Cole, Michigan
Alexa Mehesan, Michigan
Natasha Moodie, Michigan
Bianca Alvarez, Ohio State
Lisa Butler, Purdue
Kara Cook, Purdue
Caitlin Hamilton, Purdue
Leah Henninger, Purdue
Ariel Martin, Purdue
Lauren Roth, Purdue
Laura Miller, Wisconsin
Rose Morahan, Wisconsin

Illinois – CeCe Marizu
Indiana – Amilee Smith
Iowa – Caitlin Polz
Michigan – Claire Tyler
Michigan State – Kara Wackerle
Minnesota – Megan Braun
Northwestern – Genny Szymanksi
Ohio State – Sara Ratica
Penn State – Daphne Skelos
Purdue – Christine Inman
Wisconsin – Lauren Borja

Read More ...