Big Ten Announces Women's Swimming and Diving All-Big Ten Teams

Feb. 22, 2009

The Big Ten Conference announced the 2009 Women’s Swimming and Diving All-Big Ten teams and individual honors at the conclusion of the championships meet on Saturday evening.  Hoosier Christina Loukas earned Diver of the Year and Championships while teammate Kate Zubkova was awarded Swimmer of the Year accolades.  Loukas shared the Diver of the Championships award with Purdue's Ashley Karnes.  Zubkova was coached by Ray Looze who brought home Swimming Coach of the Year honors.  Jenny Shaughnessy of runner up Minnesota was named Swimmer of the Championships while Wisconsin’s Ashley Wanland took Freshman of the Year laurels.  Purdue’s Adam Soldati was given the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year award.

Below is a list of the first- and second-team All-Big Ten members and individual award winners:

First Team
Eggers, Alison - Indiana
Farrell, Margaux - Indiana
Loukas, Christina - Indiana
Smailis, Donna - Indiana
Stockwell, Sarah - Indiana
White, Nikki - Indiana
Zubkova, Kate – Indiana
Rodriguez, Caroline - Michigan
Braun, Megan - Minnesota
Busack, Stacy - Minnesota
Jamison, Kaylee - Minnesota
Jennings, Christine - Minnesota
Kobayashi, Yuen - Minnesota
McCarthy, Meredith - Minnesota
Radecke, Meagan - Minnesota
Shaughnessy, Jenny - Minnesota
Steenvoorden, Ashley - Minnesota
Tyler, Jillian - Minnesota
Karrnes, Ashley - Purdue
Wetzel, Emily - Purdue
Meyer, Maggie - Wisconsin
Thompson, Rebecca - Wisconsin
Wanland, Ashley - Wisconsin
Zwiegers, Christine - Wisconsin

Second Team
Jones, Ashley - Indiana
Kay, Allison - Indiana
Smith, Amanda - Indiana
Stockwell, Sarah - Indiana
Strumbel, Britany - Indiana
Whitehead, Hannah - Minnesota
Bell, Katie - Ohio State
Nelson, Kelly - Penn State
Hougan, Karlyn - Wisconsin
Morahan, Rosie - Wisconsin
Gergen, Kelsey - Wisconsin



Swimmer of the Year
Kate Zubkova - Indiana
Diver of the Year
Christina Loukas - Indiana
Freshman of the Year
Ashley Wanland - Wisconsin
Swimming Coach of the Year
Ray Looze - Indiana
Diving Coach of the Year
Adam Soldati - Purdue
Swimmer of the Championships
Jenny Shaughnessy - Minnesota
Co-Divers of the Championships
Christina Loukas - Indiana
Ashley Karnes - Purdue

Prior to Friday's finals honorees for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award from each team were recognized. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for women's swimming and diving are Illinois' Kristen Kloeckener, Indiana's Amy Kouthauer, Iowa’s Danielle Carty, Michigan's Courtney Beyer, Michigan State's Alycia Mokedanz, Minnesota’s Meredith McCarthy, Northwestern's Rachel Rys, Ohio State's Farriss Blaskovitz, Penn State's Lyndsey Deforest, Purdue's Christina Jacobs and Wisconsin's Anna Chang.  These eleven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.