Minnesota Wins 2014 Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Championships

Feb. 22, 2014

Championships Central

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

MINNEAPOLIS – Minnesota captured the 2014 Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship Saturday night at the University Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota. The title marks the Gophers’ third consecutive crown and sixth overall.  

Minnesota compiled 760 total points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 649 points and Penn State was third with 484 points. Ohio State finished fourth with 374 points, while Michigan recorded 361 points to finish fifth. 

The Gophers took home individual titles in the 100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard breaststroke, three-meter diving competition, platform diving event and 800-yard freestyle relay.

Minnesota’s Maggie Keefer and Purdue’s Casey Matthews were named Co-Divers of the Championships, while Wisconsin’s Ivy Martin was named the Swimmer of the Championships. Minnesota head coach Kelly Kremer collected Swimming Coach of the Year honors for the third consecutive season, while Purdue’s Adam Soldati was named Diving Coach of the Year. Indiana’s Gia Dalesandro was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

The complete 2014 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.

2014 Big Ten Individual Honors

Swimmer of the Championships: Ivy Martin, Wisconsin
Co-Divers of the Championships: Maggie Keefer, Minnesota and Casey Matthews, Purdue
Freshman of the Year: Gia Dalesandro, Indiana
Swimming Coach of the Year: Kelly Kremer, Minnesota
Diving Coach of the Year: Adam Soldati, Purdue

2014 All-Big Ten Teams
First Team
Gia Dalesandro, Indiana
Kaitlyn Flederbach, Indiana
Bronwyn Pasloski, Indiana
Brooklynn Snodgrass, Indiana
Lindsay Vrooman, Indiana
Courtney Beidler, Michigan
Kiera Janzen, Minnesota
Maggie Keefer, Minnesota
Sarah McCrady, Minnesota
Jessica Plant, Minnesota
Tori Simenec, Minnesota
Kierra Smith, Minnesota
Lauren Votava, Minnesota
Ashley Vance, Ohio State
Alyson Ackman, Penn State
Mackenzie Powers, Penn State
Casey Matthews, Purdue
Chase Kinney, Wisconsin
Ivy Martin, Wisconsin
Rebecka Palm, Wisconsin
Emma Paulson, Wisconsin
Aja Van Hout, Wisconsin

Second Team
Alexandria Day, Indiana
Kate Hillman, Indiana
Haley Lips, Indiana
Cynthia Pammett, Indiana
Marni Oldershaw, Michigan
Tess Behrens, Minnesota
Erin Caflisch, Minnesota
Samantha Harding, Minnesota
Becca Weiland, Minnesota
Blake Zeiger, Minnesota
Carolyn Fittin, Penn State
Melissa Rodriguez, Penn State
Kathryn Rowe, Penn State
Anna Meinholz, Wisconsin
Annie Tamblyn, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Alyssa Toland, Illinois
Stephanie Armstrong, Indiana
Lindsay Seemann, Iowa
Courtney Beidler, Michigan
Jessica Wellick, Michigan State
Hailey Szews, Minnesota
Katt Sickle, Nebraska
Jackie Powell, Northwestern
Ashley Vance, Ohio State
Casey Francis, Penn State
Francesca Marr, Purdue
Katie Delaney, Wisconsin