Big Ten Announces 2008 Conference Honors

Feb. 24, 2008

At the conclusion of the 2008 Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, the Conference awarded All-Big Ten honors as well as individual awards to the following individuals:

Swimmer of the Year
Emily Brunemann, Michigan

Diver of the Year
Brittney Feldman, Indiana

Freshman of the Year
Jillian Tyler, Minnesota

Swimmer of the Championships
Andrea Hupman, Northwestern

Diver of the Championships
Brittney Feldman, Indiana

Swimming Coach of the Year
Jimmy Tierney, Northwestern

Diving Coach of the Championships
Chris Bergere, Michigan 

First Team All-Big Ten
Presley Bard, Indiana
Brittney Feldman, Indiana
Donna Smailis, Indiana
Sarah Stockwell, Indiana
Kate Zubkova, Indiana
Emily Brunemann, Michigan
Melissa Jaeger, Michigan
Margaret Kelly, Michigan
Justine Mueller, Michigan
Hannah Smith, Michigan
Roxane Akradi, Minnesota
Megan Braun, Minnesota
Stacey Busack, Minnesota
Christine Jennings, Minnesota
Yuen Kobayashi, Minnesota
Meredith McCarthy, Minnesota
Jenny Shaughnessy, Minnesota
Jillian Tyler, Minnesota
Andrea Hupman, Northwestern
Kara Cook, Purdue
Kelsey Gergen, Wisconsin
Hannah McClurg, Wisconsin
Maggie Meyer, Wisconsin
Jackie Vavrek, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten
Allison Kay, Indiana
Amanda Smith, Indiana
Payton Johnson, Michigan
Bianca Alvarez, Ohio State
Kristen Asman, Ohio State
Kelly Nelson, Penn State
Daphne Skelos, Penn State
Ashley Karnes, Purdue
Jen Illescas, Wisconsin
Gabby Maddalena, Wisconsin
Rosie Morahan, Wisconsin
Christine Zwiegers, Wisconsin

Prior to Friday's finals honorees for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award from each team were recognized. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for women's swimming and diving are Illinois' Meghan Bradley, Indiana's Ashley Dell, Michigan's Margaret Kelly, Michigan State's Julie Kahn, Northwestern's Beth Campbell, Ohio State's Linda Lund-Kristiansen, Penn State's Molly Crispell, Purdue's Leah Henninger and Wisconsin's Katie Twitchell.  These eleven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.