NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships Preview

March 6, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

March 8-10 • University of Minnesota • Minneapolis, Minn • University Aquatic Center

Sixty-three student-athletes from nine different schools will represent the Big Ten Conference at the 2007 NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships on March 8-10 at the University Aquatic Center on the University of Minnesota campus.

Big Ten Champion Indiana will send nine swimmers and three divers, including Christina Loukas who became just the fourth diver in Big Ten history to win all three diving events at the conference championships back in February. Indiana will also send divers Lindsay Weigle, Heather Chapman and Brittany Fedlman along with swimmers Presley Bard, Kristin Cihoski, Ashley Jones, Allison Kay, Annica Lofstedt, Amilee Smith, Sarah Stockwell, Leila Vaziri and Clarissa Wentworth.

Michigan, the conference's runner up, will also send nine swimmers, including this year's Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships, Lindsey Smith. Elyse Lee will represent the Wolverines in the diving events.

Penn State and Minnesota, the conference's third- and fourth-place finishers, respectively, will each send 10 swimmers to the NCAAs. Wisconsin, who placed fifth, will send eight, led by Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, Yi Ting Siow.

Northwestern boasts the next-best total with five swimmers while Ohio State will send two swimmers and one diver, and Purdue will send one swimmer and two divers. Barbie Viney of Illinois will be her school's lone representative at the NCAA championships.

The 2007 NCAA Championships are the first of two national women's swimming and diving events to be held on a Big Ten campus, as Ohio State's Bill and Mae McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion will host the event in 2008.

For more information and results, check the NCAA's home page at, or visit Minnesota's site at