Minnesota's Jillian Tyler Wins National Title in 100 Breaststroke

March 18, 2011

Day Two Results

Minnesota senior Jillian Tyler swam to the national title, winning the 100-yard breaststroke in day two of the 2011 NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships. The Calgary, Alberta native, finished in a time of 58.39 seconds, after two runner-up finishes in 2008 and 2009. Tyler is the second Golden Gopher to win the NCAA title in the 100 breast. Defending NCAA 3-meter champion, Kelci Bryant earned a runner-up finish with a score of 395.85.

After day two at the Championships, Minnesota continues to lead the conference contingents in eighth place with 139 team points, followed by Wisconsin in the 11th spot with 118 tallies. Indiana and Ohio State round out the top-20, earning the 15th and 16th place, respectively.

Wisconsin's 200-medley relay team of Maggie Meyer, Ashley Wanland, Rebecka Palm and Beckie Thompson collected a second place finish in 1:35.71. Meyer also finished in fourth place in the 100-backstroke, touching the wall in a time of 52.01.

Purdue's Erin Mertz collected All-America accolades, finishing third in the 3-meter (373.90), while Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez took home fourth place with a combined score of 351.65 points.

Indiana junior Allysa Vavra broke her own Big Ten record in the 400-individual medley to finish fifth, with a time of 4:04.30. It is the highest-finish ever for the junior at the NCAA meet.