Indiana's Vavra and Ohio State's Alvarez Win Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Honors

Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez was named Big Ten Diver of the Year on Wednesday

March 21, 2012

The conference office announced on Wednesday the 2012 Big Ten Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners, as voted by the conference coaches. Indiana's Allysa Vavra captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez took home Diver of the Year accolades.

Vavra won the 200- and 400-yard individual medley events and placed second in the 200 breaststroke at the Big Ten Championships, setting three records in the process. Her 400 individual medley time (4:01.41) set a Big Ten record, while her 200 individual medley mark (1:55.44) was a Big Ten Championships meet and school record. She also The Coaldale, Pa., native earned All-America recognition for her performances at the NCAA Championships, placing in the top-eight in three events. The Hoosier senior finished fifth in the 400 individual medley, seventh in the 200 breaststroke and eighth in the 200 individual medley at the championships. Vavra's award is the fourth in Hoosier history and the second in three years; Kate Fesenko accomplished the feat in 2010.

After claiming the 1- and 3-meter diving titles at the Big Ten Championships to earn Co-Diver of the Championships accolades, Alvarez placed second in the 3-meter springboard (386.30) at the NCAA Championships to achieve All-America honors. The Buckeye senior also received honorable mention status in the 1-meter event after posting a ninth-place score of 340.50, which is third best in Ohio State history. The Miami, Fla., native totaled eight All-America accolades in her career and becomes the first Buckeye since Aimee Hogan in 1996 to earn Big Ten Diver of the Year laurels.