Wisconsin's Meyer and Minnesota's Bryant earn Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Honors

March 22, 2011

The conference office announced on Tuesday the 2011 Big Ten Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners as voted on by the conference's coaches. Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Minnesota's Kelci Bryant was a unanimous pick for Diver of the Year after winning the award last season.

Meyer won the NCAA 200-yard backstroke title in a time of 1:50.76, setting a new school record. After ending the season undefeated in the event, the senior also recorded the fastest time in the country this year. The White Bear Lake, Minn., native earned Wisconsin's first women's individual national title in program history. Meyer ended the 2011 NCAA meet as a six-time All-American and earned 18 All-America or honorable mention All-America accolades throughout the course of her career. Meyer's award is the sixth in Badger history and first since Yo Ying Siow accomplished the feat in 2007.

After earning the national title in the three-meter springboard last season, Bryant captured the one-meter diving title during this year's NCAA Championships with a score of 349.65, becoming the first two-time national champion in Gopher history. For her performance at the national two-day event, Bryant was named the College Swimming Coaches Association of America Diver of the Championships. The first-team All-Big Ten honoree also earned Diver of the Championships accolades earlier this season as she took the conference titles in both springboard events.