Indiana's Snodgrass and Minnesota's Keefer Win Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Honors

Minnesota's Maggie Keefer

Minnesota's Maggie Keefer

March 25, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten announced the 2014 Big Ten Women’s Swimmer and Diver of the Year awards, as voted on by the conference coaches. Indiana’s Brooklynn Snodgrass was named the Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, while Minnesota’s Maggie Keefer was tabbed the Big Ten Diver of the Year.

Snodgrass earned the postseason accolade after winning the national title in the 200-yard backstroke at the NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships, finishing the event in a time of 1:50.52.  She also recorded a fourth-place finish at the national championships in the 100-yard backstroke (51.05 seconds). Snodgrass secured four first-place finishes at the Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships, winning the 100-yard backstroke (51.65 seconds) and 200-yard backstroke (1:51.43). She also contributed to conference titles in the 200-yard medley relay (1:36.69) and 400-yard medley relay (3:30.30). Snodgrass is the third straight Hoosier to win the award, marking Indiana’s fifth recipient in the last six years.

Keefer was named the Big Ten Diver of the Year for the second consecutive season. She was tabbed the Co-Diver of the Championships after winning the three-meter diving event with 386.75 points and finishing second in the one-meter diving competition with 339.05 points at the Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships. At the NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships, Keefer finished fourth in the one-meter diving event (328.20) and ninth in the three-meter diving competition (368.60). Minnesota has now won the Diver of the Year award in four of the last five years.