2015-16 Women’s Swimming & Diving Season In Review

April 4, 2016

The Big Ten women’s swimming & diving season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 19 at the McAuley Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Ga. Indiana led the conference finishing in seventh as a team, followed by other top-20 teams with Michigan (10th place), Ohio State (14th place) and Minnesota (16th place). Michigan claimed the Big Ten Championship this season, marking the Wolverines’ 15th conference title and first crown since 2004.

NCAA Championships Central: The Big Ten was well-represented in the 2016 NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships. The Big Ten saw first-place finishes from Indiana’s Lilly King (100-yard breaststroke and 200-yard breaststroke), Michigan’s Siobhain Haughey (200-yard freestyle) and Ohio State’s Lindsey Clary (400-yard individual medley). For complete coverage of the NCAA Championships, click here.

NCAA Championships Qualifiers: This year’s championships featured 52 Big Ten competitors from 10 different schools. Going into the NCAA Championships, Big Ten institutions had won 33 individual titles, including a conference-leading 10 crowns from Michigan participants. The list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found here.

Bringing Home the Hardware: The Big Ten announced the 2016 Big Ten Women’s Swimmer, Diver, Swimming Coach and Diving Coach of the Year awards, as voted on by conference coaches. Indiana’s Lilly King and Ray Looze secured Big Ten Swimmer and Swimming Coach of the Year, respectively, while Minnesota’s Yu Zhou and Wenbo Chen took home Big Ten Diver and Diving Coach of the Year. For the complete postseason honors release, click here.

Wolverines Win Gold: Michigan claimed the 2016 Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship at the Canham Natatorium on the campus of the University of Michigan. The title marked the Wolverines 15th team title, and first since 2004.

Michigan compiled 1,361 total points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 1,207.5 points and Minnesota was third with 927.5 points. Ohio State finished fourth with 859 points, while Purdue recorded 766.5 points to finish fifth.

The Wolverines took home titles in the 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke, 200-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard medley relay, 400-yard freestyle relay and 800-yard freestyle relay.

For more information about the 2016 Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships, including All-Big Ten and individual award honorees, click here and here.

King Gets Crowned: Indiana’s Lilly King was named CSCAA Swimmer of the Year after her performance at the 2016 NCAA Championships, becoming the first Hoosier to ever win the prestigious award. For more information on King and her performance, as well as the historical CSCAA Swimmer of the Year list, click here and here.

Academic Excellence: On March 23, the conference recognized winter sports athletes who had been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 204 women’s swimmers and divers. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. For more on the Academic All-Big Ten selections, click here