Big Ten Announces Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

May 14, 2015 ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday, with $15,000 awarded to each institution. Twenty-nine student-athletes from the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded the scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year's recipients span 15 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including athletic administration and sport management, audiology, biomedical engineering, business administration, chemistry, communicative sciences and disorders, dentistry, international affairs, law, medicine, occupational therapy and physical therapy.

All of this year's recipients have been named Academic All-Conference at least once in their career, while four have been tabbed Academic All-Americans-- Michigan State's Ryan Keener, Penn State's Matthew Brown, Rutgers' Campbell Sode and Wisconsin's Kimberly Dinh. Three student-athletes helped lead their teams to Big Ten Championships this season, including Michigan's Justin Glanda (men's swimming and diving), Minnesota's Jessica Plant (women's swimming and diving) and Nebraska's John Welk (men's indoor track and field).

Maryland's Shannon Bustillos, Michigan State's Keener and Becca Mills, Penn State's Brown and Katie Rodden, Rutgers' Greta Leberfinger and Wisconsin's Dinh have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees in their respective sports so far this academic year, while Bustillos, Glanda and Keener have also earned All-Conference honors this season. Plant and Sode also received the 2015 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award, while Glanda and Welk have been named Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients with five schools yet to announce their honorees.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Student-athletes must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.  

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student's postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.   

The complete list of 2014-15 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Maurice Watkins, Track and Field
Hailey Booth, Swimming and Diving

Will Nolden, Baseball
Rebecca Dreher, Soccer

Michael Vinyard, Swimming and Diving
Gabrielle Watson, Rowing

Joshua Polacek, Wrestling
Shannon Bustillos, Softball

Justin Glanda, Swimming and Diving
Chelsey Miller, Cross Country/Track and Field

Michigan State
Ryan Keener, Soccer
Becca Mills, Basketball

Christopher Johnson, Swimming and Diving
Jessica Plant, Swimming and Diving

John Welk, Track and Field
Amanda Lauer, Gymnastics
Jennifer Lauer, Gymnastics

John Coukos, Wrestling
Julia Kuhn, Softball

Ohio State
Tim Wetzel, Baseball
Chloe Meyer, Rowing

Penn State
Matthew Brown, Wrestling
Katie Rodden, Cross Country/Track and Field

Manuel Gutierrez, Swimming and Diving
Carly Marshall, Swimming and Diving

Campbell Sode, Lacrosse
Greta Leberfinger, Swimming and Diving

Andrew Brekke, Track and Field
Kimberly Dinh, Golf