Big Ten Announces Postgraduate Scholarships Recipients

May 16, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The Big Ten Conference office announced its inaugural postgraduate scholarships recipients on Thursday. One male and one female student-athlete from each of the 12 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year’s 24 recipients span 15 different sports, including four softball standouts, three student-athletes from football, women’s soccer and women’s swimming and diving teams, two men’s gymnasts, and one recipient each from baseball, women’s cross country, fencing, field hockey, men’s golf, men’s rowing, men’s soccer, men’s swimming and diving and men’s and women’s track and field.

The recipients will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including seven student-athletes who plan to enroll in medical schools and six honorees that will enter law schools. This year’s honorees are also pursuing graduate degrees in diverse fields of study, including dentistry, economics, fine arts, human resources and labor relations, naval architecture and marine engineering, occupational therapy, pharmacy, physical therapy, sports management and veterinary medicine.

All 24 of the recipients have been named Academic All-Big Ten at least once in their career, while three have been tabbed Academic All-Americans – Minnesota’s Troy Larson and Allie Phillips and Ohio State’s Alicia Herron. On the field, Nebraska’s Conor McDermott helped the Husker football team to the Legends Division title and Northwestern’s Jarrett Baughman was part of the Wildcat men’s soccer squad that won its second consecutive Big Ten Championship this season. Ohio State fencer Max Stearns was part of a Buckeye team that won the NCAA Championship in 2012.

Five postgraduate scholarship winners – Indiana’s Michael McGee, Phillips, Baughman, Penn State’s Scott Rosenthal and Purdue’s Alec LaMothe – have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees in their respective sports so far this academic year. Four Big Ten student-athletes received All-Big Ten recognition in their respective sports thus far this season, as Iowa’s Javier Balboa and Sarah Drake, Baughman and Purdue’s Lauren Gustafson earned All-Conference honors.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Student-athletes must have been in their final season of NCAA eligibility, maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.  

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.   

The complete list of 2012-13 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Zach Becker, Football
Keri Eberhardt, Women’s Swimming & Diving

Ciersten Burks, Women’s Soccer
Michael McGee, Men’s Golf

Javier Balboa, Men’s Gymnastics
Sarah Drake, Field Hockey

Valerie Barthelemy, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Steve Wilson, Football

Michigan State
Kevin Jackson, Men’s Track & Field
Jordan Mueller, Women’s Soccer

Troy Larson, Baseball
Allie Phillips, Women’s Soccer

Conor McDermott, Football
Megan Southworth, Softball

Jarrett Baughman, Men’s Soccer
Kristin Scharkey, Softball

Ohio State
Alicia Herron, Softball
Max Stearns, Fencing

Penn State
Scott Rosenthal, Men’s Gymnastics
Lauren Yao, Softball

Lauren Gustafson, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Alec LaMothe, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Hanna Knurr, Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country
Cody Rissman, Men’s Rowing