2012 Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Nominee - Indiana's Allysa Vavra

Allysa Vavra is Indiana's nominee for the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year award.

June 15, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Allysa Vavra – Indiana – Swimming
In her senior season, Vavra won two Big Ten titles, posted three top-eight finishes at the NCAA Championships and set school records in the 200 breaststroke, 200 IM and 400 IM. She garnered All-America honors and was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Year and Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships after winning and breaking the Big Ten meet record in both the 200 and 400 individual medleys. Click HERE for more information on Allysa.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler

Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball

Lavonte David, Nebraska football

Ashley Miller, Nebraska track

Andrew Riley, Illinois track

Colleen Ward, Illinois volleyball

Christina Manning, Ohio State track

Zain Shaito, Ohio State fencing

John Shurna, Northwestern basketball

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern lacrosse

Maya Hayes, Penn State soccer

David Taylor, Penn State wrestling

Andy Bayer, Indiana track