Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - IND's Lindsay Vrooman

Vrooman posted two top-five finishes at the NCAA Championships.

June 25, 2013

Through today, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Wednesday.

Lindsay Vrooman - Indiana - Women's Swimming & Diving
The Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, Vrooman earned All-America recognition for her performances at the NCAA Championships after placing in the top-five in two events. At the national meet, the Hoosier finished third in the 1,650 freestyle in a school-record time of 15:50.83 and fifth in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:36.41, the second-fastest time in school history. The junior was also named Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships after winning the 500- and 1,650-yard freestyle events, being a part of the winning 800 freestyle relay team and setting three conference records. Her 500 freestyle time (4:35.41) set a Big Ten record, while her second consecutive 1,650 freestyle title (15:51.20) was a Big Ten Championships meet record. Click HERE for more information on Lindsay.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    



Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving

Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf  

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling

Amanda Kessel, Minnesota women's ice hockey

Justin Parr, Illinois baseball

Ashley Spencer, Illinois women's track & field  

Montee Ball, Wisconsin football   

Cassandra Darrah, Wisconsin softball   

Chad Wright, Nebraska men's track & field

Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska women's tennis

Venric Mark, Northwestern football

Chelsea Armstrong, Northwestern field hockey

Blaz Rola, Ohio State men's tennis

Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State rowing

Derek Drouin, Indiana track & field