Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving Season Underway This Week

Sept. 30, 2015

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Big Ten men’s and women’s swimming and diving season is set to begin this week, with six men’s and nine women’s squads opening the 2015-16 competition slate. This year marks the 35th season of Big Ten women’s swimming and the 106th season of men’s swimming in the conference.

The season opens with the Indiana men’s and women’s squads hosting Cincinnati on Thursday, while the Michigan, Michigan State and Purdue men’s and women’s teams compete in the Michigan State Outdoor Invitational on Friday. Friday also features the Ohio State and Rutgers women’s teams at the Florida Gulf Coast University Invitational in Naples, Fla., while the Penn State men’s and women’s teams challenge Georgia Tech and Liberty in Atlanta.

On Saturday, the Minnesota men’s and women’s teams open their season at Florida State, while Nebraska hosts Arkansas at home. Ohio State and Rutgers continue the second day of competition at the FGCU Invitational and the Penn State squads travel to Emory.

Last season, Michigan captured the 2015 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship, which marked its fifth consecutive crown and 39th overall. Ohio State followed in second and Indiana took third.

On the women’s side, Minnesota claimed its fourth consecutive and seventh overall Big Ten Championship last year. Indiana followed in second and Michigan came in third.

The remaining Big Ten programs will open their seasons later in October. The 2016 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Wednesday, Feb. 24 – Saturday, Feb. 27 at Purdue, while the 2016 Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Wednesday, Feb. 17 – Saturday, Feb. 20 at Michigan.