Women's Swimming and Diving Opens 2009-10 Season

Oct. 9, 2009

The 2009-10 season of Big Ten women's swimming and diving begins Friday, Oct. 9, with five conference teams in action. Purdue and Wisconsin will open their campaigns at home, while the other three squads will hit the road to participate in meets across the country. Iowa is set to open the season on Friday, as the Hawkeyes travel to Kirksville, Mo., to meet Truman State in a 5 p.m. (CT) dual meet. Illinois will travel to Lincoln, Neb. on Saturday, to face Nebraska in the third straight season opener between the two programs. Also on Saturday, the Michigan Wolverines will take to the water at the Dennis Stark Relays hosted by the University of Notre Dame.

Penn State and Michigan State are slated to begin their seasons next week with meets scheduled for Tuesday and Friday, respectively. The Nittany Lions will travel to New York to face St. Bonaventure while the Spartans play host to Illinois in East Lansing, Mich., on Oct. 16. Defending Big Ten Champion Indiana will dive into the 2009-10 campaign in a conference road-matchup at Northwestern on Friday, Oct. 23. Minnesota and Ohio State will return to the water the following week on Oct. 30.

The Big Ten welcomes back 11 members from last year's All-Big Ten team. Minnesota leads the conference, returning four first-team selections, including NCAA runner-up Jillian Tyler (100-yard breaststroke) and Big Ten individual champion Megan Braun (200-yard butterfly). Indiana and Wisconsin restore three first-team honorees apiece while Purdue returns one first-team member in 2009 Big Ten one-meter diving champion Ashley Karnes.

Daily doses of Big Ten swimming and diving news and notes can be found on the Big Ten Winter Sports Blog, located at www.bigten.org/blog/winter_blog.html.  For more information throughout the season, visit the Big Ten Conference page on Facebook for updates on all conference teams.