Wisconsin and Minnesota Take Home Weekly Swimming and Diving Honors

Dec. 7, 2010

Park Ridge, Ill. - The conference office announced on Tuesday the ninth weekly women's swimming and diving award winners for the 2010-11 season. Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer and Minnesota's Kelci Bryant earned the nod as Swimmer and Diver of the Week, respectively.

Women's Swimmer of the Week
Maggie Meyer, Wisconsin
Sr. - White Bear Lake, Minn. - White Bear Lake

Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer took home a pair of titles at the Texas Invitational, setting new school records and earning automatic spots at the NCAA Championships in both the 100-and 200-yard backstroke, this weekend. Meyer swam the fastest time in the country this season in the 200-yard backstroke, swimming in 1:51.59 to break the Badger record and earn an automatic spot in the NCAA Championships. She also set the school record in the 100-yard backstroke, finishing with an `A' time of 52.39. This is Meyer's second weekly award of the season.

Last Wisconsin women's Swimmer of the Week: Maggie Meyer (Nov. 9, 2010)

Women's Diver of the Week
Kelci Bryant, Minnesota
Jr. - Chatham, Ill. - Keystone National

Kelci Bryant earns her first weekly laurel of the season after dominating the diving field in the Georgia Invitational. The Gopher junior captured top honors on both springboards, winning the 1-meter event with a score of 341.60. Bryant then moved to the 3-meter board, where she won the 2010 NCAA Championship, and won the event title with a mark of 346.55. This marks Bryant's fourth Diver of the Week award of her career.

Last Minnesota women's Diver of the Week: Margaret Keefer (Oct. 19, 2010)

2010 Big Ten Women's Swimmer/Diver of the Week

Oct. 12
S: Jillian Tyler, Sr., MINN
D: Amanda Lohman, Jr., MICH
Oct. 19
S: Ashley Wanland, Jr., WIS
D: Margaret Keefer, Fr., MINN
Oct. 26
S: Amy Modglin, So., PSU
D: Erin Mertz, Sr., PUR
Nov. 2
S: Adrienne Bicek, So., MICH
S: Rebecka Palm, Fr., WIS
D: Gabby Agostino, Jr., IND
Nov. 9
S: Maggie Meyer, Sr., WIS
D: Erin Mertz, Sr., PUR
Nov. 16
S: Jillian Tyler, Sr., MINN
D: Bianca Alvarez, Jr., OSU
Nov. 23
S: Megan Detro, So., OSU
D: Gabby Agostino, Jr., IND
Dec. 7
S: Maggie Meyer, Sr., WIS
D: Kelci Bryant, Jr., MINN